Question A Few Questions From a New Kid on the Block...

Hello. I'm new to the domain industry, and have a few questions for the more experienced, knowledgeable domaineers.

1. Is there worthwhile value in the .net/.org versions of high-priced .com domains? For example, say Website.com sold for $10,000. Does that logically entail that Website.net is a worthwhile purchase? If it varies case-by-case, as I suspect it does, then how do we determine when it's worthwhile and when it's not?

2. What's the typical going rate for .net/.org relative to .com? Is one (.net or .org) more valued than the other?

3. Is there money to be made in registering hand-registering new domains? Basically, I don't have a lot of cash, so my current method is to search for potentially valuable domains which have somehow slipped through the cracks, and then resell them for profit. The good news is, using GoDaddy codes, this is very cost-effective way of building a portfolio of domains. The bad news is, I'm still unsure if it's even worth it. So... is it?

4. This is more of a personal question: How many domains do you have for sale, and how often do you sell one?

5. Will adding a site to a domain, even if that site is traffic-less, typically increase a domain's value?

6. If you were to give a beginner one piece of advice to help him succeed, what would it be?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can answer any of these questions. It's very much appreciated.

6. If you were to give a beginner one piece of advice to help him succeed, what would it be?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cybersquatting

Don't do it. Don't buy a domain name speculating that you can sell it for more. The odds are against you. You are better off developing a revenue generating website (unique content with ads or affiliate links) and then keeping it or selling it.

To give you an idea of the relative value of a net or org compared to a dot com:
    http://www.3character.com/priceguide.html