What script should I use when creating a website

I am very new to the whole coding/ creating website thing but I am very interested in getting started. I want to create a social media site and wanted to know how I might do that. I've heard of people using Joomla to write scripts. Anything helps to get me started! Thanks!

Moved > Web Design and Content .
    Specially 4 You
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

You may want to look into Social Engine. It is a PHP Social Networking engine that is customizable.

Start with basic PHP, maybe take a look at Tutsplus (Web) which might have some useful resources, then learn a PHP framework which will allow you to skip reinventing the wheel for many things and use existing best practices.

Note that writing any kind of web-application will take time and dedication, especially if it's new to you. Be prepared to rewrite things often and end up failing frequently, realizing that your old code is too bad and you probably should make a newer set of practices, etc.

Good luck!

Vancouver, BC
    Also be aware that PHP is not your only option; you could also look into Django (based on Python), Ruby on Rails, and a few other choices. But colet is correct that no matter what you choose, it will take significant effort to learn. A social media web application involves a lot more dynamic interactivity than basic, static HTML/CSS pages. Would definitely recommend you start off by learning HTML/CSS (and eventually JavaScript) first. - Keep it Simple.
    ● Web Hosting Should Be Easy! No technical jargon, no problems, no frustration.
    ● Low-cost shared hosting packages, optimized for small projects and WordPress blogs.

United States
    If you want to build a social media site from scratch, it will a lot of time and work. I advise checking PHPFox.
    Snoork Hosting - Enterprise Servers | DDoS Protected Network