Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kepler 62f
    Posts
    14,877

    lldpd High Resource Usage?

    Code:
    lfd on server: Excessive resource usage: _lldpd (3094 (Parent PID:3092))
    
    Time:         Fri Jan 17 09:00:14 2014 -0600
    Account:      _lldpd
    Resource:     Process Time
    Exceeded:     50661 > 2400 (seconds)
    Executable:   /usr/sbin/lldpd
    Command Line: /usr/sbin/lldpd
    PID:          3094 (Parent PID:3092)
    Killed:       No
    What would cause this?
    And then what's the fix?

    It's been happening almost on the hour for 12 hours now:
    • 9:00
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 12
    • 11:37
    • 10:37
    • 9:37 < when it started
    || Need a good host?
    || See my Suggested Hosts List || Editorial: EIG/Site5/Arvixe/Hostgator Alternatives
    ||

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    117
    Have you checked the logs?
    yo what's up

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kepler 62f
    Posts
    14,877
    Which log? There's tons of them.
    At this point, I'm not even sure what I'm looking for.
    || Need a good host?
    || See my Suggested Hosts List || Editorial: EIG/Site5/Arvixe/Hostgator Alternatives
    ||

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    117
    I meant the /var/log/lfd.log and start at the time of occurrence. Putting $timing=1; at the top in /etc/csf/lfd.pl will display time consumption for each execution so you'll be able to see in the lfd.log what actually exceeds the time limit.
    yo what's up

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kepler 62f
    Posts
    14,877
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    Putting ... at the top
    Huh?

    It already shows the time used by the process, so I'm not sure that really helps. I'm more worried about what caused it, and how to stop it.


    .
    .
    Last edited by kpmedia; 01-17-2014 at 02:45 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    117
    You should have /etc/csf/lfd.pl file. Open it with your text editor such as nano or vi and then at the top of the file add $timing=1; .This will enable the lfd to record time consumption for each execution it makes. So then you will be able to see in your /var/log/lfd.log exactly how much time does this or that take and hopefully you'll be able to track down whatever is exceeding the time limit. Even though, you should review the log file right now from 9:37 when the problem started and see what does it say.
    yo what's up

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kepler 62f
    Posts
    14,877
    How does seeing how long a process took narrow down the problem any?
    I use nano when I can. Hate vim.
    || Need a good host?
    || See my Suggested Hosts List || Editorial: EIG/Site5/Arvixe/Hostgator Alternatives
    ||

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    117
    It will show exactly what lfd is doing that takes so much time. What did the logs say, have you checked logs? Did you make any changes to the system perhaps? Most of those messages also false flags anyway. If you don't want to bother, you can disable process tracking by setting PT_LIMIT=0 in your csf interface.
    yo what's up

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kepler 62f
    Posts
    14,877
    I'm more interested in what llpdp is using. Is it even needed?
    I can find almost zero information about this online.
    || Need a good host?
    || See my Suggested Hosts List || Editorial: EIG/Site5/Arvixe/Hostgator Alternatives
    ||

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    117
    My God, I totally misread that! I'm terribly sorry.
    yo what's up

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    lldpd is an implementation of LLDP which is a protocol for network topologies for using something like Netdisco.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kepler 62f
    Posts
    14,877
    It wasn't needed that I could tell, and I wasn't getting any good answers from any forum or any host. It's something I've never heard of, used for something else I'd never heard of. So I uninstalled it, and everything still works fine. All I can think of is when the server was deployed, the host did it. Or rather, a single tech did. Because I wasn't getting good info from the host either.

    This BS wasted part of 2 days.
    || Need a good host?
    || See my Suggested Hosts List || Editorial: EIG/Site5/Arvixe/Hostgator Alternatives
    ||

Similar Threads

  1. Causes of high resource usage
    By babymushy in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-20-2007, 09:32 AM
  2. Kill High Resource Usage
    By LifeGuard in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 10:01 PM
  3. VPS High Resource Usage
    By Caleb20103 in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2006, 12:20 AM
  4. High resource/usage website
    By biesky83 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-13-2005, 05:28 PM
  5. Resource Usage High
    By That Guy in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-17-2005, 08:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •