Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    42

    SolusVM Node Monitoring

    We've recently had some very problematic clients who are abusing server resources.

    We often have servers going offline because of a 800mbit RAM spike, but our SolusVM software doesn't seem to limit their accounts to the normal 100mbit.

    What software is there out there that can Monitor SolusVM nodes for high network usage as well as any problematic issues like rootkits, etc.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by Skowt View Post
    We've recently had some very problematic clients who are abusing server resources.

    We often have servers going offline because of a 800mbit RAM spike, but our SolusVM software doesn't seem to limit their accounts to the normal 100mbit.

    What software is there out there that can Monitor SolusVM nodes for high network usage as well as any problematic issues like rootkits, etc.
    Assuming you are talking about network and not RAM, it is confirmed the network speed throttling in SolusVM doesn't work as it should: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1187802
    Nick - Velocity Servers Inc.
    Managed cPanel/WHM VPS & Dedicated Servers
    24/7/365 Support | PayPal, Bitcoin & Credit Card
    Hudson Valley Host - ChicagoVPS - Vortex Servers - 123Systems - BlueVM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by VortexServers View Post
    Assuming you are talking about network and not RAM, it is confirmed the network speed throttling in SolusVM doesn't work as it should: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1187802
    Yeah I saw that topic earlier.. I've got a ticket going with SolusVM support and they suggest that you just need to make sure the VPS is rebooted after applying the network settings :/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by Skowt View Post
    Yeah I saw that topic earlier.. I've got a ticket going with SolusVM support and they suggest that you just need to make sure the VPS is rebooted after applying the network settings :/
    Doubt a reboot with fix anything with that, have you issued a reboot and can you tell if the network speed is throttled afterwards?
    Nick - Velocity Servers Inc.
    Managed cPanel/WHM VPS & Dedicated Servers
    24/7/365 Support | PayPal, Bitcoin & Credit Card
    Hudson Valley Host - ChicagoVPS - Vortex Servers - 123Systems - BlueVM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by VortexServers View Post
    Doubt a reboot with fix anything with that, have you issued a reboot and can you tell if the network speed is throttled afterwards?
    I've enabled Traffic Shaping on all of our nodes and have limited customers to around 15 - 20mbit. The majority of our customers use 5mbit or so constant.

    It's a little hard though to go and restart hundreds of customers. There should be a better way.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,612
    Quote Originally Posted by Skowt View Post
    I've enabled Traffic Shaping on all of our nodes and have limited customers to around 15 - 20mbit. The majority of our customers use 5mbit or so constant.

    It's a little hard though to go and restart hundreds of customers. There should be a better way.
    You could just reboot the entire VPS node, bit it could take some time for all of those VPS machines to power back up.
    Snoork Hosting - Enterprise Servers | DDoS Protected Network
    99.9% Network Uptime | 15 Minute Ticket Response Time | 24/7 Live Chat
    Check Out Our Dedicated Server Specials For Amazing Discounts & Promotions

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Snoork Hosting View Post
    You could just reboot the entire VPS node, bit it could take some time for all of those VPS machines to power back up.
    And you don't really want all the customers on a node to all go offline... Doesn't really reflect well. Specially if we can't confirm that traffic shaping works.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    /usr/bin/fail
    Posts
    858
    Take a look at nodewatch. It will help with things like DDOS , email spamming and SSH bruteforce attacks(outbound)

    http://vpsantiabuse.com/

    It will suspend the VPS causing the problem and email you alerts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by CN-Jeremy View Post
    Take a look at nodewatch. It will help with things like DDOS , email spamming and SSH bruteforce attacks(outbound)

    http://vpsantiabuse.com/

    It will suspend the VPS causing the problem and email you alerts.
    Thanks Jeremy, I shall check it out. Looks promising!

Similar Threads

  1. SolusVM on node
    By bh-host in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2012, 02:00 AM
  2. SolusVm Setup, XEN Node management and Monitoring with Backup
    By Host4Geeks-Kushal in forum Systems Management Requests
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-03-2012, 08:33 AM
  3. Replies: 60
    Last Post: 02-24-2012, 01:41 PM
  4. Convert Old hypervm node into solusvm slave node - possible?
    By Siterack_net in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 05:14 AM
  5. Node bandwidth monitoring
    By UrbanVPS in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2006, 02:41 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •