Is this a normal solution?

Hi
    Unfortunately, my reseller provider and one of his servers were under DDos attack. Of course, my reseller accounts were on that server.
    So websites were down for 45minutes-1hour(they are still down btw), when provider sent email saying that old IP is nulled, and now we only need to wait until is propagated, up to 24 hours.
    I am not an expert, but leaving me without websites for 24 hours??? I don't even want to think about my client(I will handle that somehow)... but what if new attack happens? Another 24 hour...
    I have reseller account at one other company and this hasn't happened for almost 2 years(maybe I was lucky)
    Thanks

How a DDOS attack is handled depends mostly on the DC the servers are being hosted with (if servers are rented) and/or the network configuration being used (especially if servers are colo'ed). A null route is not unusual at all in a situation where a server is rented or in a colo setup with limited available bandwidth. It might not be ideal, however, expect to pay a premium price for a service capable of absorbing large attacks without service disruption.
    WHMEasyBackup.com - Take Control Of Your Backups!
    Complete Backup Solution For WHM Reseller Accounts
    Download Trial

Yes, changing IP is not a permanent solution, It can happen to new IP as well.
    LankaPartnerHost.Com
    Openvz SolusVm VPS DDOS Protected Canada & Romania
    Dedicated Servers And Satellite Dish Colocation with 1Gbps For IPTV
    Canada Anti DDOS Webhosting, Reseller Hosting, WHMsonic, WHMsonic Resellers

Quote Originally Posted by DWS2006 View Post