How to calculate costs?

Hello,

When you have a site and dont know what kind of hostingtype top choose what is best advice you can give. Why i ask this :

Well, I am gonna set up a website but i dont know how many visitors i am going to have. So imagine i take a package of 50dollar/month hosting...how far will i get with such package?

Another reason why i ask this is because i need to know how much to ask my clients...just trying to secure myself if to much bandwith etc will come at my bill. I have the idea but am total noob in hosting and all those things...

If i ask people to pay for example 1$ a month but through different circumstances it maybe will cost me 10$ for each client. Thats something i really dont wanna.

Tips are welcome.

How far you will get with a $50 package depends on many factors, including:

1) The resources provided with that package
    2) What the web site will be doing (type of content, databases, file serving, etc)

One way to work this is to ease into it. Buy a smaller package/VPS/Cloud Server and grow it as your resource utilization warrants.
    Tim Benoit

A good site with the same use would be something like bandcamp.com
    I cant belief this runs on a 50$ budget. Or is it?

I wouldn't know how busy that site is nor the full technology behind operating the site. Depending on usage it could be hosted on a simple shared hosting plan.

I would recommend easing into the hosting architecture. Maybe start with Shared Hosting and move to a Cloud Server when your site's resource usage deems it necessary (when it starts performing poorly and/or your shared hosting provider notifies you that your site is using too many resources).
    Tim Benoit

Quote Originally Posted by sparkling View Post
    A good site with the same use would be something like bandcamp.com
    I cant belief this runs on a 50$ budget. Or is it?