Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    353

    DirectAdmin DNS does not work

    Hi.

    There's a vps running DirectAdmin with a single domain setup on it. The domain's name servers are set in the form of glue records and are set propertly as is reported in intodns.com. The named is running and records are setup correctly but the domain is not resolving.

    Please advise to fix this issue.
    TIA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    353
    Did you check the logs to see what is happening. Can you provide the domain name?

    Does the domain name resolve locally? Try:

    Code:
    # curl -4 thenameofyourdomain.com
    OCOSA Communications | Since 2003
    http://www.ocosa.com
    Hosting, Connectivity, Professional Services

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    353
    Hi

    No it does not even resolve locally on the server. Which log file should I check?
    The domain name is trawin.ir

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    353
    This means your DNS doesn't work. You can try looking in:

    Code:
    cat /var/log/messages | more

    To see any DNS errors.

    See if you are listening on port tcp/udp 53.
    OCOSA Communications | Since 2003
    http://www.ocosa.com
    Hosting, Connectivity, Professional Services

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    353
    Hi

    It is listensing on tcp 53 as I can connect to it via telnet command

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    353
    Okay try:
    Code:
    # dig trawin.ir
    Did you setup your NS records at your registrar? This is a must.
    OCOSA Communications | Since 2003
    http://www.ocosa.com
    Hosting, Connectivity, Professional Services

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    353
    Hi

    Yes NS records aresetup properly as you can see at http://www.intodns.com/trawin.ir The bellow is result of above command:

    Code:
    ; <<>> DiG 9.8.2rc1-RedHat-9.8.2-0.17.rc1.el6_4.6 <<>> trawin.ir
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 28956
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;trawin.ir.                     IN      A
    
    ;; Query time: 144 msec
    ;; SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jan  2 19:18:34 2014
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 27

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    353
    That says that you do have the name records listed for your domain. Very good. However, your DA box is not answering requests. Something is not setup correctly on your DA server.

    You might try deleting the domain and recreating it in your DA installation.
    OCOSA Communications | Since 2003
    http://www.ocosa.com
    Hosting, Connectivity, Professional Services

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,842
    Quote Originally Posted by pijaweb View Post
    Yes NS records aresetup properly as you can see at http://www.intodns.com/trawin.ir
    Look a little further down that page to the red errors. Your nameservers are reporting NS records ns1 and ns2.srptest.ir (that information comes from the zone files on your VPS). AFAICT srptest.ir isn't even registered.
    Chris

    "Some problems are so complex that you have to be highly intelligent and well informed just to be undecided about them." - Laurence J. Peter

Similar Threads

  1. DNS - DirectAdmin
    By bluemer in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 05:28 PM
  2. Looking for DNS Hosting Providers that work with DirectAdmin
    By tekiegreg in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 09:52 AM
  3. Anonymouse DNS & Reseller DNS - How does it work?
    By cycomhk in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 01:18 AM
  4. DNS and Domain Help - Setting up DNS with DirectAdmin
    By Phatmat in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 04:10 AM
  5. Can DirectAdmin DNS work with only 1 IP Address?
    By Tailseh in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2006, 10:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •