Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    bind experimentation

    Hello,

    this is a newbie question i wish i would not have to ask... but here I am...

    first a quick lay of the land:

    vps (burstnet uk) running CentOS Linux 6.5, webmin, virtualmin
    one domain name "domain.co.uk" and thank to virtualmin some web sub servers server1.domain.co.uk, server2.domain.co.uk etc.... all under bind9 supervision (configured automaticaly by virtualmin)

    my first experiment would be to use bind on the vps to "redirect" serverXX.domain.co.uk to a fixed IP4 address w.x.y.z

    after plenty of reading, i added one record (address) to the master zone domain.co.uk pointing to w.x.y.z
    it now shows on the address list but any attempt to use serverXX.domain.co.uk from a web browser will end up being served by the "default" apache server running on the VPS.

    Have I forgotten a key stage in the process?

    please help a willing learner to move forward

    Patrice

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    543
    Delete the sub server for serverXX.domain.co.uk and create a DNS record for serverXX under the virtual server for domain.co.uk -> Administration -> DNS Records. Since you don't need to create a website and email accounts for serverXX.domain.co.uk, you don't need to create a virtual server for it.

  3. #3
    thank for this quick reply... I actually have not created the serverXX.domain.co.uk subserver...
    all i did was to use webmin module bind to add a record to master zone "domain.co.uk"...

  4. #4
    I checked on the virtualmin side, home.domain.co.uk is already a DNS record of domain.co.uk
    (not really a surprise!!! i checked HOST zone file and was there!!)

Similar Threads

  1. Win Bind to Linux Bind transfer
    By batoo in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 05:58 PM
  2. upgrade bind to bind-9.4.1-P1
    By xserverx in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2007, 08:17 PM
  3. Help, i am gettin this BIND error when i try to restart bind
    By mrtaz4u in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-27-2005, 01:28 AM
  4. BIND on xp?
    By brentonboy in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-25-2004, 01:05 AM
  5. Bind 8 to Bind 9 Migration
    By boonchuan in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-18-2004, 10:55 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •