Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    59

    Mikrotik BGP Load Sharing setup help..

    Hello friends.

    I have 2 ISP bandwidth provider both has given me full BGP. Now i want to share the load over my 4 IP Block.. I got a help from mikrotik site but thats not working at all..

    I have single Router with 3 Interface
    Ethernet1 is lan
    Ethernet2 is ISP1
    Ethernet3 is ISP2

    here is my configuration please correct my configuration.

    ISP1 : TTSL : 111.xxx.226.60/30 Gateway 111.xxx.226.61
    ISP2 : Reliance : 115.xxx.124.148/30 Gateway 115.xxx.124.150

    Code:
    #set our AS number
    /routing bgp instance
    set default as=132563
    
    #add BGP peers
    /routing bgp peer
    add name=TTSL remote-address=111.xxx.226.61 remote-as=45820
    add name=Reliance remote-address=115.xxx.124.150 remote-as=18101
    
    /routing bgp network
    add network=103.xxx.100.0/24 synchronize=no
    add network=103.xxx.44.0/24 synchronize=no
    add network=103.xxx.45.0/24 synchronize=no
    add network=103.xxx.46.0/24 synchronize=no
    
    /routing bgp peer
    set Reliance in-filter=isp1-in out-filter=isp1-out
    set TTSL in-filter=isp2-in out-filter=isp2-out
    
    
    #Outgoing filters to TTSL:
    /routing filter
    #accept our networks and prepend second network
    
    add chain=isp1-out prefix=103.xxx.44.0/24 action=accept
    add chain=isp1-out prefix=103.xxx.45.0/24 action=accept  
    add chain=isp1-out prefix=103.xxx.46.0/24 action=accept set-bgp-prepend=3
    add chain=isp1-out prefix=103.xxx.100.0/24 action=accept set-bgp-prepend=3
    #discard the rest
    add chain=isp1-out action=discard
    
    
    #Outgoing filters to Reliance:
    /routing filter
    #accept our networks and prepend first network
    add chain=isp2-out prefix=103.xxx.44.0/24 action=accept set-bgp-prepend=3
    add chain=isp2-out prefix=103.xxx.45.0/24 action=accept set-bgp-prepend=3
    add chain=isp2-out prefix=103.xxx.46.0/24 action=accept
    add chain=isp2-out prefix=103.xxx.100.0/24 action=accept 
    #discard the rest
    add chain=isp2-out action=discard
    Do i need to add more configuration...

    Please help me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by san2roy View Post
    Do i need to add more configuration...

    Please help me
    Your config looks to be ok, and should do what you need.

    Feel free to PM me if you need a hand to troubleshoot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    59
    Quote Originally Posted by geekboy View Post
    Your config looks to be ok, and should do what you need.
    i want to load sharing with 2 Link

    1st 2 IP block will run On 1st Link
    2nd 2 IP Block will run on 2nd Link

    If one link down full load (4 IP block) will run on other active link....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    5,292
    If you have only 4 IPs, you may have problems with your routes working, as a /24 is the smallest subnet that is going to be accessible to non direct peers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    59
    Quote Originally Posted by (Stephen) View Post
    If you have only 4 IPs, you may have problems with your routes working, as a /24 is the smallest subnet that is going to be accessible to non direct peers.
    I have 4 subnet of /24 check my configuration.


    Code:
    /routing bgp network
    add network=103.xxx.100.0/24 synchronize=no
    add network=103.xxx.44.0/24 synchronize=no
    add network=103.xxx.45.0/24 synchronize=no
    add network=103.xxx.46.0/24 synchronize=no

    now i want
    1st 2x/24 IP subnet will run On 1st ISP Link
    2nd 2x/24 IP subnet will run on 2nd ISP Link


    If one ISP down full load (4 x /24 IP Subnet) will run on other active ISP....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    353
    Prepending should do the trick unless someone is ignoring it. You should really use BGP communities to prepend if your provider(s) supports it.

    Have you looked at other attributes like Local Preference?

    Setup a route-map use communities to effectively load share thru prepending and local preference.

    To see if it works hop on a route server and see what your routes look like.
    OCOSA Communications | Since 2003
    http://www.ocosa.com
    Hosting, Connectivity, Professional Services

Similar Threads

  1. Power load sharing in an A/B environment
    By accidental uptime in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 03:29 PM
  2. Load Sharing
    By michaelczhan in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2004, 06:25 PM
  3. how much can a server handle (load-sharing?)
    By ememex in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-24-2003, 06:42 AM
  4. Load Balance/Sharing on web servers
    By qhasxeem in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-23-2002, 02:26 AM
  5. To BGP or not to BGP? Aint that the question ;)
    By jonny b in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-23-2001, 10:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •