Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    VPS Disk Space Question

    I recently purchased a VPS to test a provider. The plan came with 100GB of Disk, however df-h shows this. How does it only have 53GB available when less than 1GB is used?


    [[email protected] ~]# df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs 100G 694M 53G 2% /
    none 512M 4.0K 512M 1% /dev
    none 512M 0 512M 0% /dev/shm

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    275
    Did you speak with the provider? It may be a mistake on their part.
    ZonedHost.com & ZonedHost.co.uk - Since 2009.
    ★ Specialists in cPanel 11 |Softaculous Shared & Reseller Web Hosting.
    ★ Linux OpenVZ VPS Hosting | Shoutcast Hosting | Game Hosting.
    ★ EU/UK Servers | High Grade Hardware | 99+% Uptime | + Much More...

  3. #3
    I have a ticket open. I was told by someone that this might be overselling of space since it's OpenVZ.

  4. #4
    Hopefully it will turn out to be something trivial and not overselling, dont panic yet


    I had a similar problem a few years ago, it turned out that the automatic provisioning tried to use a HDD that was full.

    After a ticket with the host they allocated more space and all I had to do was mount the drive. However I asked to be completely setup again as I didnt see the point is having such a small ammount of space split over 2 physical disks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,948
    The scenario @g0ne brought up is most likely the case.

    This can happen if the provider configured the node and didn't mount /vz as a separate partition and is relying on the LVM instead. In those cases, if the VPS node's root directory is low on space, this is generally what ends up happening. The "df -h" output is almost certainly reporting the remaining disk space of the node.

    I'm not about to accuse another provider of overselling, however, it does seem as though the disk is near capacity.

    If you feel like troubleshooting, paste the output of these commands to at least check the VPS itself -- though this really sounds more like the provider's problem....

    PHP Code:
    # cat /proc/mounts
    # cat /etc/mtab
    # ls -l /etc/mtab 
    And to check second-level quotas:

    PHP Code:
    # ls -l /aquota* 
    These outputs will at least narrow down the issue somewhat.
    Last edited by Technolojesus; 12-22-2013 at 11:44 AM.
    | John Edel Jetfire Networks L.L.C. Trusted Hosting Solutions
    | Consistent, Reliable, Stable OpenVZ & KVM Virtual Private Servers
    | SpamWall AV & Full SMTP Filtering
    Now an SSLStore Titanium Partner!

  6. #6
    [[email protected] ~]# cat /proc/mounts
    /dev/simfs / simfs rw,relatime 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /dev devtmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0
    [[email protected] ~]# cat /etc/mtab
    /dev/simfs / simfs rw,relatime 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /dev devtmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0
    [[email protected] ~]# ls -l /etc/mtab
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Dec 21 03:53 /etc/mtab -> /proc/mounts
    [[email protected] ~]# ls -l /aquota*
    ls: cannot access /aquota*: No such file or directory

  7. Looks like your container is located on a disk with 53G left. Ask them to move it on another drive/node.
    Hostabulous | cPanel (Linux) & Plesk (Windows) Hosting KVM VPS R1Soft backups | Proudly Canadian
    Cloudflare LiteSpeed Cloudlinux Remote backups Anti-Spam Web App Firewall Canada/US/Germany

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,948
    Well, the container looks good as far as configs/mounts. The aquota error is to be expected if second-level (user) quotas aren't defined. Pretty certain the disk is near it's capacity at this point.

    [[email protected] ~]# ls -l /aquota*
    ls: cannot access /aquota*: No such file or directory

    Hope this gets straightened out soon for you!
    | John Edel Jetfire Networks L.L.C. Trusted Hosting Solutions
    | Consistent, Reliable, Stable OpenVZ & KVM Virtual Private Servers
    | SpamWall AV & Full SMTP Filtering
    Now an SSLStore Titanium Partner!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    462
    Do you have SolusVm ? You can check the storage capacity through the SolusVm.







    Quote Originally Posted by TheNewsgroups View Post
    I recently purchased a VPS to test a provider. The plan came with 100GB of Disk, however df-h shows this. How does it only have 53GB available when less than 1GB is used?


    [[email protected] ~]# df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs 100G 694M 53G 2% /
    none 512M 4.0K 512M 1% /dev
    none 512M 0 512M 0% /dev/shm

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,948
    Please pardon the bump -- OP, were you able to straighten this out with your provider? I happened to think of another possible scenario which may cause this, but I don't want to take up your time if it's been taken care of.
    | John Edel Jetfire Networks L.L.C. Trusted Hosting Solutions
    | Consistent, Reliable, Stable OpenVZ & KVM Virtual Private Servers
    | SpamWall AV & Full SMTP Filtering
    Now an SSLStore Titanium Partner!

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by jetfirenetworks View Post
    Please pardon the bump -- OP, were you able to straighten this out with your provider? I happened to think of another possible scenario which may cause this, but I don't want to take up your time if it's been taken care of.
    It turns out the provider is notorious for overselling resources. I've cancelled the VM and asked for a refund. Thanks everyone for your inputs.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,948
    That's disappointing to hear. It's unfortunate that some providers grossly overload the capacity of their servers' resources. I'm very anti-overcommit, so I empathize with your situation.

    Certainly hope you're back up and running with a new provider soon. Try not to let this give you the impression that all OpenVZ providers oversell, it's ultimately up to the provider to allow it to happen. Thanks a lot for the update and good luck going forward.
    | John Edel Jetfire Networks L.L.C. Trusted Hosting Solutions
    | Consistent, Reliable, Stable OpenVZ & KVM Virtual Private Servers
    | SpamWall AV & Full SMTP Filtering
    Now an SSLStore Titanium Partner!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    4,680
    95% of the time this happens when the provider is over-selling. It starts running out of space and reflects on your VPS.

    - Daniel
    Managed & Unmanaged SSD VPS's by tmzVPS.com | FAST PURE SSD & HDD Plans!
    █ Locations in USA & United Kingdom - Legal Adult Content Allowed! 24/7 Certified Support.
    cPanel/WHM Included | Premium Softaculous | Data Migration Included with Managed Support.
    █ INSTANT SETUP | Paypal, Skrill, 2checkout, BitCoin & all Major Credit Cards Accepted! Skype: tmzvps.chat

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-24-2012, 09:21 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2012, 04:24 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 01:31 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-30-2010, 03:13 PM
  5. A disk/space question... / user too ?!?
    By hostingsp in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-01-2002, 09:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •