Question Can you FTP from one hosting provider to another?

Hi all, Well only a couple of days ago I jumped ship from Shared hosting with Fasthosts and have gone the VPS route with 1&1

The shared hosting with Fasthosts is Cpanel.
    My 1&1 VPS is CentOS 6 with Plesk 11

I have over 40GB of images (Client galleries) on the shared hosting which I need to move.
    Downloading them via FTP on my desktop and then FTP up to my VPS would take days. But if it has to be done then so be it.
    But.. Is there another way, Can I say install an FTP client on my VPS and tell it to download everything from my share hosting?

I have unlimited bandwidth so worried there.
    If what I would like to do is possible can someone please point me in the right direction hopefully with instructions. I am completely new to Linux/CentOS and do not even know how to open these shell prompts I here people talk about LOL.
    So anythign Gui would be ace..

Thanks for sounding dumb.

Quote Originally Posted by ukmdb View Post
    But.. Is there another way, Can I say install an FTP client on my VPS and tell it to download everything from my share hosting?
    Yes, you can as long as you have ssh access in your VPS.

You can also download it to your VPS using wget via ftp.
    Specially 4 You
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

Portland, Oregon
    Hi. Going to do my best to keep this as clear as possible as I don't use Plesk as often as I used to.

As net mentioned, this can be done from the command line, provided you have SSH access as it seems you do.

Are the galleries database driven or were they coded in HTML or another language? If they're simple HTML, or you only want to pull the images and nothing else, this can be done with a few simple commands.