Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: VPS to Hybrid

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068

    VPS to Hybrid

    Hello,

    currency i am selling hosting packages through a managed VPS. but i see daily basis i am having LFD and HANG: chkservd failers and having an average 20 minutes down time.

    my vps provider is asking me to upgrade to a hybrid.

    will this upgrade would solve these problems?

  2. #2
    Did your provider tell you the reason why they suggested you to go hybrid? E.g. server load etc?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Shyuan View Post
    Did your provider tell you the reason why they suggested you to go hybrid? E.g. server load etc?
    This what our providers wrote

    I've had an issue with your server just now, and was forced to suspend the xxxxx account due to the large amounts of resources they were consuming. This caused your load to go very high:
    xxxxxxxx 24563 0.2 1.6 46900 30956 ? DN 04:31 0:00 /usr/bin/php /home/xxxxxxxx/public_html/site.com.com/wp-cron.php
    xxxxxxxx 24593 0.6 3.2 75956 60256 ? SN 04:31 0:01 /usr/bin/php /home/xxxxxxxx/public_html/index.php
    It may be time for a bigger server, as this one user is pushing your resources to it's limits currently

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    LocalHost
    Posts
    1,303
    Looks like your VPS need more memory.
    Are you using CSF firewall on your VPS. If yes, you can set to kill process that exceed certain amount of memory usage like 200MB.

    In CSF firewall set PT_USERKILL to 1
    I am not sure how helpful it will be, but you can give a try.
    YagHost - Pure SSD Hosting | Since 2007 | Average Response Time: 15 min
    Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Managed VPS Hosting
    99.9% Server Uptime Guarantee | 24/7 Rapid Response Tech Support | 30 Day Money Back Guarantee
    LopHost.com - Web Hosting Tutorials

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi_9793 View Post
    Looks like your VPS need more memory.
    Are you using CSF firewall on your VPS. If yes, you can set to kill process that exceed certain amount of memory usage like 200MB.

    In CSF firewall set PT_USERKILL to 1
    I am not sure how helpful it will be, but you can give a try.
    Hai ravi,

    yes we have csf installed.ill give a try with that command.
    btw, our vps is having 1.75 GB Ram and running around 50 websites.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi_9793 View Post
    Looks like your VPS need more memory.
    Are you using CSF firewall on your VPS. If yes, you can set to kill process that exceed certain amount of memory usage like 200MB.

    In CSF firewall set PT_USERKILL to 1
    I am not sure how helpful it will be, but you can give a try.

    PT_USERPROC = 20
    PT_USERMEM = 300
    PT_USERKILL = 1
    PT_USERKILL_ALERT = 1
    i have one more doubt ravi,if a process is killed, that cpanel account websites will not run right? and what i want to do to bring them up again?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    LocalHost
    Posts
    1,303
    Quote Originally Posted by kandyjet View Post
    i have one more doubt ravi,if a process is killed, that cpanel account websites will not run right? and what i want to do to bring them up again?
    Website will run. It will only kill that particular instance and will come up again when requested again.
    YagHost - Pure SSD Hosting | Since 2007 | Average Response Time: 15 min
    Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Managed VPS Hosting
    99.9% Server Uptime Guarantee | 24/7 Rapid Response Tech Support | 30 Day Money Back Guarantee
    LopHost.com - Web Hosting Tutorials

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    LocalHost
    Posts
    1,303
    Quote Originally Posted by kandyjet View Post
    btw, our vps is having 1.75 GB Ram and running around 50 websites.
    I personally think that a cPanel VPS must be of minimum 2 GB. cPanel is little memory hogger. You may optimize Apache / MySQL for less memory usage.
    YagHost - Pure SSD Hosting | Since 2007 | Average Response Time: 15 min
    Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Managed VPS Hosting
    99.9% Server Uptime Guarantee | 24/7 Rapid Response Tech Support | 30 Day Money Back Guarantee
    LopHost.com - Web Hosting Tutorials

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lafayette, IN
    Posts
    194
    I agree, perhaps adding some more dedicated memory to the account will help resolve to bottle neck, and should be a cheaper and less hassle solution as well.

  10. #10
    your problem is lack of RAM, probably CPU cores as well.

    Firstly look at CloudLinux. This will solve your server problems. Secondly, there is UNIXY Varnish plugin for cPanel to make your client websites running really fast.

    Both have trials, easy to install and uninstall.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ten1/0/2
    Posts
    2,509
    Is this an OpenVZ or a KVM (or ?) VPS? If it is OpenVZ based then you cannot even consider Cloudlinux, but if it is KVM or any non-container environment then it might be worth looking at.

    From the message, it looks like that a single user account was consuming a lot of resources and the server admin did it for the right reasons.

    Yes, you should consider adding some More RAM as well.
    CPanel Shared and Reseller Hosting, OpenVZ VPS Hosting. West Coast (LA) Servers and Nodes
    Running Linux since 1.0.8 Kernel!
    Providing Internet Services since 1995 and Hosting Since 2004

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    713
    Your Best Choice would probably be just to go ahead and upgrade the ram on the server. It will be a lower cost and it will probably help your issues.

Similar Threads

  1. Wiredtree vps & Hybrid vs Futurehosting VPS & Hybrid
    By Julian45 in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-27-2013, 07:31 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 12:27 PM
  3. difference between hybrid and non hybrid vps?
    By HostAnd in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 04:01 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2010, 03:41 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2010, 03:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •