Why Does Net Earth One require my ID?

Hello, I am brand new here and am starting with a question as I am seeking a new registrar to work with. Based on some suggestions I was considering Net Earth One but after applying they asked for some ID to verify who I was I guess, supposedly to prevent fraud.

I have been buying and selling domains since 1996. I started selling domains with register.com, then their wholesale arm, then Tucows, GoDaddy, their wholesale arm (Wild West), then internetbs.net and then resell.biz. I still have accounts with GD, WW, IBS, and Resell.biz.

In the past GD and WW offered free privacy, then got greedy, so although I maintain accounts there, I no longer purchase my own domains through them. I then tried internetbs but had several problems with them. 1. my preferred credit card had a problem dealing with a company in Nassau. 2. Their promised 24 hour support never materialized although for a long time it was advertized on their home page. 3. There are problems ordering privacy when buying a domain requiring remembering to go back later and add it, and when I tried to move domains away, 4. They put up some resistance to releasing my domains.

Then I took other suggestions and tried resell.biz. It is very awkward with their system to place orders, the same issue with getting privacy when transferring a domain, and every single link to authorize a domain transfer has resulted in an error causing me to ask for help which brings up the last issue, many, many emails to them have gone unanswered and calls during their business hours have gone unanswered resulting in calls left on their VM that have never been returned.

So after more research, I thought I would try another company, this time applying at Net Earth One. To get an account there they wanted some sort of proof I was who I was, i.e. DL, passport, utility bill, etc.