Looking for advice on pricing shared hosting plans

Hi there I'm new to WHT and I am trying to figure out a good way to price shared hosting plans to build my web hosting company up.

I started out doing websites for some clients for about 2 years ago and now have built up a steady cash flow and monthly recurring income from the websites but that was with offline customers and local businesses who paid more for my business to host the sites and offer support.

Recently we have been trying to shift from the web design over to mostly a complete hosting and web solutions company to sell domains, hosting, SSL, backups, and anything else a web customer could need. I have been looking at literally hundreds of other hosts, websites, and pricing plans. I just don't seem to get it. How can they offer such cheap pricing with unlimited hosting and be able to even cover the cost of server, billing/support software, yet alone make money in your pocket or pay for employees? Also I see many offer 24/7 support too. How is this even possible for a small hosting business?

I wanted to offer some plans at $10, $20, and $30 per month for web hosting but I'm not sure what all features have to be included or if that is too high of a price considering all the other web hosts just charging like $3.95 or $4.95 for "unlimited" packages.

If anyone can help or offer advice that would be awesome! Thanks!

"Unlimited" anything as far as a finite server resource goes is complete BS. There are limits in place and it's misleading marketing in my opinion. There MUST be limits in place as it's simply impossible to offer an unlimited amount of a resource that is finite.

"You get what you pay for." is extremely true in the hosting industry. In formulating pricing, consider your costs (be sure to include some hourly amount for your own time) and consider the added value you are delivering to clients that choose to host with you. Price your services accordingly.