KVM or OpenVZ, for a VPS?

I am a beginner and I am thinking to buy a VPS for myself. I see many providers offering OpenVZ and KVM, but I am not sure which one to go with.

I read up few articles, from what I understand KVM provides full isolation and kernel is not shared. And also Open Vz is seems cheaper for the same config of KVM.

But I only care about performance. So does isolation play any role in performance?

When I am getting 256MB of VPS with KVM, how much of that memory will be usable for my applications? (since kernel is not shared, it will also take up memory in this 256MB?) and in the same way, do I get full 256MB usage for my applications in OpenVZ since Kernel is shared?

Tulsa, OK
    You are correct KVM is isolated/full virtualization and OpenVZ is container based and can be oversold. What is the VPS going to be used for (e.g. web hosting, email, DNS, VPN, etc.)?

You pretty much have an understanding of the key differences.

I would also point out if you need a windows VPS it will not work with OpenVZ (Linux only) you would have to go with KVM in this case.

Performance wise some say KVM is slower and OVZ is's debatable. IMO, It really depends on the provider's configuration of the KVM host node.

You can reference these threads:

OCOSA Communications | Since 2003
    Hosting, Connectivity, Professional Services

that depends.

if you use more cpu, than KVM is best option (you get what you pay)

KVM => Virtual dedicated server (VDS)

openVZ => kernal is shared, i think , but easy to maintain => click reinstall and all in one click
    Simple and awesome

My choice will depend on VPS memory.
    Less than 512 MB -> OpenVZ
    512 MB or more -> KVM

Remember, openVZ may perform better in most cases. But OpenVZ node is generally oversold.
    YagHost - Pure SSD Hosting | Since 2007 | Average Response Time: 15 min
    Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Managed VPS Hosting