Clustered VM Storage

I'm currently running a proprietary SAN solution, and while it works well I'm inclined to go with a clustered storage solution when I run up against the capacity of my unit next year.

The problem is that my knowledge is out of date. It used to be that more spindles --> better IOPS, which matters for database applications. Now that we're in the world of SSDs it seems like all that has changed.

So I'm looking for your experiences, and any advice you've got. Right now I need to decide on hardware vs software, and then choose a platform:

• By default I looked at CacheCade (or comparable) RAID controllers with a mirrored SSD for cache and a pile of multi-TB SATA drives sitting behind it because it seems that's the best of both worlds. Reading is suggesting that I can do about as well doing this in software with ZFS. If I go with a software solution, what am I really giving up?
    • Clustering is the next hurdle. I've got some experience with Open-E and their active/active clustering solution looks interesting. I've also been playing the NAS4Free, and it looks like it incorporates HAST which should offer an acceptable active/passive solution. Then again, I could build a pair of Linux/FreeBSD servers and use DRBD/HAST and friends to build failover as well. Right now I'm leaning toward NAS4Free if the failover doesn't take more than a couple of seconds, but I've got no experience

So who wants to set me straight?

In terms of the SSD caching technologies, you can do this in software quite easily, as long as you do the math on how much SSD capacity would make sense as a backing cache to your spindle storage. Below is a list of just a few (and the most popular) projects doing this on Linux:

What you'd lose is much the same as Software RAID vs Hardware RAID. You would be transferring the same data across the bus using the host CPU to manage caching. Fast bus and ample CPU would generally negate this.