Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    * Error after changing IP adddresses

    My un-managed vps was moved to different data center and had to change Ip Address.

    So I logged into Kloxo,

    1) Deleted current DNS template

    2) Delete the Ip address

    3) Created new DNS temp

    4) Change the host at Godaddy to new IP

    Now I get error "CGI error Couldn't find address for www.sites.com" when I try to any of the web sites.

    http://www.intodns.com/domainads.info

    How do I fix these errors in intoDNS ?

    did I miss any steps when I change the ip ?
    Last edited by bluearrow; 11-26-2013 at 02:18 AM.
    >.<

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    16
    Hello,

    The only serious error you have is in your Glue records, which may just be a propagation issue.

    How long ago did you make this change at Godaddy? If it has been less than 24 hours, I would suggest hanging tight just a bit longer.

    If it has been more than that, I would go review your settings that you changed at Godaddy, it may have errored out, assuming that 192.210.146.123 is your new IP address.
    www.ninjavps.net - Affordable Servers - One and Done support!
    Premium VPS and Dedicated Hosting | 99.999% Uptime Guarantee!
    No Tiered Support | Choose your level of management!
    Have a question? www.ninjavps.net/billing/contact.php

  3. #3
    192.210.146.123 is the old one. 162.220.241.40 is the new one. Well I changed it yesterday so it's less than 24 hours.
    >.<

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    16
    Hello again,

    The error is showing that your nameserver is reporting the IP of: 192.210.146.123 for your a records for the ns.

    Based on a DiG that I performed (which you can see below) your "A" records on your new nameserver are incorrect. I requested the "A" record from your new nameserver IP (162.220.241.40) for your ns1 server. I was returned the answer of ns1.domainads.info. 86000 IN A 192.210.146.123

    This indicates that your zone file on your new server is incorrect. You should update these to reflect your new IP address.

    C:\Users\Will>dig ns1.domainads.info @162.220.241.40
    ; <<>> DiG 9.10a1 <<>> ns1.domainads.info @162.220.241.40
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 1896
    ;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2
    ;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;ns1.domainads.info. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    ns1.domainads.info. 86000 IN A 192.210.146.123

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    domainads.info. 86000 IN NS ns1.domainads.info.
    domainads.info. 86000 IN NS ns2.domainads.info.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns2.domainads.info. 86000 IN A 192.210.146.123

    ;; Query time: 113 msec
    ;; SERVER: 162.220.241.40#53(162.220.241.40)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Nov 25 23:26:46 Pacific Standard Time 2013
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 111
    www.ninjavps.net - Affordable Servers - One and Done support!
    Premium VPS and Dedicated Hosting | 99.999% Uptime Guarantee!
    No Tiered Support | Choose your level of management!
    Have a question? www.ninjavps.net/billing/contact.php

  5. #5
    Thank you. Sorry I'm bit confused. Here's a screen shot of my current DSN template, Do I need to change anything there ? if not what do I need to change in Kloxo ?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.JPG  
    >.<

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    16
    Hello again,

    This looks mostly correct. Here are the changes you will want to make.

    Currently you are not defining a name server for your primary domain. The following records should be changed as listed here:

    Hostname Type Priority Value
    ns1.domainads.info ns - ns1.domainads.info
    ns2.domainads.info ns - ns2.domainads.info

    The above should look like this:

    Hostname Type Priority Value
    domainads.info ns - ns1.domainads.info
    domainads.info ns - ns2.domainads.info
    www.ninjavps.net - Affordable Servers - One and Done support!
    Premium VPS and Dedicated Hosting | 99.999% Uptime Guarantee!
    No Tiered Support | Choose your level of management!
    Have a question? www.ninjavps.net/billing/contact.php

  7. #7
    I delete temp and recreated but still same error. I just don't get how does it still showing the old IP when I have already deleted it from everywhere. This time I deleted hostnames in Godaddy to see what happens when I redo that.

    Also

    I made a DNS temp for a different domain and still getting an error

    http://www.intodns.com/mangaraider.com
    >.<

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    16
    Hello,

    It appears as though your registrar changes have correctly propagated out. At this time, the only remaining issue is that you need to have the nameservers listed in your zone file.

    You may want to review your zone file for correct settings. Maybe check and make sure you don't have the same domain listed twice.

    ; <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> domainads.info @162.220.241.40
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 36400
    ;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2
    ;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;domainads.info. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    domainads.info. 86000 IN A 192.210.146.123

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    domainads.info. 86000 IN NS ns1.domainads.info.
    domainads.info. 86000 IN NS ns2.domainads.info.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.domainads.info. 86000 IN A 192.210.146.123
    ns2.domainads.info. 86000 IN A 192.210.146.123

    ;; Query time: 70 msec
    ;; SERVER: 162.220.241.40#53(162.220.241.40)
    ;; WHEN: Tue Nov 26 10:33:12 2013
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 116
    www.ninjavps.net - Affordable Servers - One and Done support!
    Premium VPS and Dedicated Hosting | 99.999% Uptime Guarantee!
    No Tiered Support | Choose your level of management!
    Have a question? www.ninjavps.net/billing/contact.php

Similar Threads

  1. Changing default cPanel error pages?
    By FLCLFan in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 02:35 AM
  2. Error message (changing themes)
    By HopelessLose in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2004, 12:36 PM
  3. Error when changing zones
    By Khazun in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-08-2004, 02:53 PM
  4. help! OpenSRS error when changing nameservers
    By hnmedcom in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-15-2003, 04:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •