How would you explain EIG (Endurance International Group)

How would you explain EIG (Endurance International Group) to a complete newbie?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enduran...national_Group

For "fun" I often help people import their forum communities from one forum software development to another. Usually for free or a small gift (having someone order me pizza for example), so I can not say I do this as a business.

I usually do it just to help out the little guy, because when I was the little guy, I remember help being hard to find and often when found, it was costly. And I always thought that was sort of unfair because I wasn't a business, my site was a hobby, and usually what I needed was just some simple advise or guidance.

Any ways.... Obviously, when doing what I do, I come across a lot of hosting environments. Different plans, different setup, and a wide range of different resources.

I've noticed though that there is a growing amount of shared, shared plus, and resell accounts who end up using a web hosting service provider owned and operated by EIG. And I also know a lot of you here on WebHostingTalk.com have your experience with EIG (and opinions with good reason).

And usually these people are a little confused and frustrated that an import, which can be resource intensive, is not easily completed on such hosting accounts. Often I find it not possible at all. It's a lot easier to just download it onto a fresh copy of Debian, do the import locally, then just upload it back to their host.

But of course the person I'm trying to help will point out that they have X plan with Y resource. And I try to tell them that not all web host are equal and what they advertise is not always what they're getting.

So I guess I'm wondering how would you explain this to a complete newbie? And why it maybe also a good idea to find a better host?!
    Last edited by TheVisitors; 11-24-2013 at 02:02 PM.

▲ ▲

WoltLab Dev