Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: IPMI Question.

  1. #1

    * IPMI Question.

    Hello,
    I have a Dell SC1425,
    I would like to be able to manage the system with IPMI, but i dont know if i will actually need a supermicro server..

    Here is a server exactly like mine (i have better processors and better ram)

    Search [Dell SC1425]

    Here is the IPMI card i was looking in buying.

    search (ebay) SuperMicro AOC-SIMLP-B IPMI 2.0 Remote Management Adapter REV 3.0

    Will i need anything else besides this?

    Thank you so much, and im hoping i posted this in the right place.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    928
    Doesn't your server come with an embedded IPMI BMC? Try configuring it with these instructions: http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...d=isg3T1014472
    ▄▀▄ Brian Harrison, Lead Engineer - Reprise Hosting (AS62838)
    ▄▀▄ Deals on cheap dedicated server hosting. IPMI included! Unmetered bandwidth.
    ▄▀▄ Website migration, 24/7/365 support, basic server setup, 15 day money back.
    ▄▀▄ Looking for DEALS on self-managed cheap VPS hosting? Visit VPSHostingDEAL.com

  3. #3
    If you have Dell I advise not mixing with SuperMicro. Dell has DRAC's if you don't already have IPMI and some of our servers have IPMI already which I suspect you have on this one too… Take a look: http://www.dell.com/downloads/global...1425_specs.pdf
    Hosting And Designs L.L.C. Since 2002 --> http://www.hostinganddesigns.com/HD/
    Tech Blog: http://www.hostinganddesigns.com/Blog/
    Sales: Lars A Jensen. Direct: 503-999-7518 9am-5+pm

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,131
    Dell SC series does not support DRAC. It has a basic IPMI BMC that you can use serial over LAN, reboot and power off/on remotely though the LAN1 port. There is no KVM over IP or Virtual Media though, you cannot see the screen after boot unless your OS supports it and redirects to serial and is text mode only.

    You cannot use a Supermicro AOC card with it. It needs to be supported by the mainboard, there is no such thing as "separate global IPMI" cards...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,131
    Addendum: the only way you can see the console screen remotely, is by attaching a Lantronix Spider or any other external KVM device.

Similar Threads

  1. IPMI question
    By ohyea in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 08:42 PM
  2. IPMI Question
    By iXn9 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-20-2012, 10:12 PM
  3. IPMI Question
    By flyah in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-06-2011, 02:21 PM
  4. Question about IPMI?
    By WootWoot in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 01:30 PM
  5. IPMI Question
    By freebase in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-04-2004, 11:59 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •