Domains With Hosting Plan Advice

I'm still learning about web hosting and being a reseller.

The of the things I'm facing is that I want to be able to sell domains, that allow the customer to use as a custom domain on a blogging application like Blogger, Tumblr, SquareSpace, etc, just to name a few.

When I purchased my domain from Arvixe years ago, I HAD to purchase a hosting plan, so that I could map my domain to my blogspot. So I had to pay for resources I never used, only just to get access to cPanel with Advanced Zone Editor so I could setup my A records. I asked Arvixe if this was possible without purchasing a plan, but they said no, because their needed to be a nameserver for the domain, which kinda makes sense.

So I'm wanting to provide a hosting plan that provides zero resources, but gives cpanel/zone editor access for about $1/mo or $10/yr.

Does this sound like a good idea? I haven't seen anyone else do this, so I figure I missing something.

So you are looking to just have dns access? Why not just get a domain directly from registrar since some has free dns already?
    Specially 4 You
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

Most registrars are already provide free services like DNS management. For example; we have a reseller account on Resellerclub. They provide control panel for our users, DNS management, 2xPOP3 email, email & domain forwarding, hiding whois with every domains for free.

If you open a domain reseller account when you will no need to create hosting to provide these services.
    DomainCart - Domain and Hosting Shopping Cart with Integrated Bootstrap Hosting Template.
    www.domaincart.net - Demo