creating a vps from dedicated server?

Hello,
    I have been working with shared hosting since a couple of years now and pretty much manage my servers my self. I am trying to read / learn more about setting up VPS from a dedicated server. Referring to openvz, I am a little confused as to where exactly should I start reading.

I am trying to totally understand how to bridge openvz, cpanel, whmcs to make it automated?

Any help or links would be appreciated.

I just hope you are not putting cPanel in the main node.

Are you planning to sell vps? If yes, look at SolusVM.
    Specially 4 You
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

creating a vps from dedicated server?

Even proxmox if you want to use KVM or SolusVM if you want to use openVz, Xen & KVM. However you cannot install them and Cpanel on the host node you would need to create a VPS for the cPanel.

Quote Originally Posted by net View Post
    I just hope you are not putting cPanel in the main node.

Are you planning to sell vps? If yes, look at SolusVM.
    What I am trying to understand is:

Like we usually create packages in WHM and link it to whmcs. So when my client signs up, it automatically creates and account using the same package.

Is it just that for VPS as well? Simply install SolusVM and create packages in it? Put the same info in whmcs and you're done?

you can create packages with solus vm as same as WHM you doing, see this link to understand how whmcs and solusvm work together, http://docs.whmcs.com/SolusVM
    LankaPartnerHost.Com
    Openvz SolusVm VPS DDOS Protected Canada & Romania
    Dedicated Servers And Satellite Dish Colocation with 1Gbps For IPTV
    Canada Anti DDOS Webhosting, Reseller Hosting, WHMsonic, WHMsonic Resellers

The full installation instructions along with configuration documents are available, so you can just follow those instructions.