Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    606

    c6100 raid 10 possible?

    Is it possible to do raid10 on c6100? If so, any recommendations on how to complete this?
    FrostVPN.com - Speedy OpenVPN & PPTP VPN Services

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,130
    yes. Get the 2.5" drive bay option.

    If you can't get that drive bay option then you can run the 3.5" bay option.

    RAID10 requires a minimum of 4 drives.

    If you have the 12 x 3.5" bay you can re-cable them into 2 nodes with 4 drives and 2 nodes with 2 drives.
    Redundant.com High Availability and High Performance Solutions
    Dedicated Servers and VMware Cloud Hosting in Dallas and Los Angeles
    Diverse connections to the Internap Performance Optimized Network

  3. #3
    isn't the onboard use Intel ICH Raid? so it would not work with linux just windows

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    606
    Quote Originally Posted by Ionity View Post
    yes. Get the 2.5" drive bay option.

    If you can't get that drive bay option then you can run the 3.5" bay option.

    RAID10 requires a minimum of 4 drives.

    If you have the 12 x 3.5" bay you can re-cable them into 2 nodes with 4 drives and 2 nodes with 2 drives.
    Ah, okay, I'll try that out once I receive the system.

    Quote Originally Posted by earlb View Post
    isn't the onboard use Intel ICH Raid? so it would not work with linux just windows
    I'm doing software raid for the setup. It's for a personal server.
    FrostVPN.com - Speedy OpenVPN & PPTP VPN Services

Similar Threads

  1. Should I go with the DELL C6100 ?? (new into collocation)
    By aliitp in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 10-30-2013, 03:54 AM
  2. Question Regarding a Dell PowerEdge C6100
    By Prepare4ServerStorms in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-26-2013, 09:05 AM
  3. C6100 Reboot shuts node down
    By StealthyHosting in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-15-2013, 02:27 PM
  4. WTB Dell C6100 XS23-TY3
    By xexex in forum Web Hosting Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-04-2013, 10:58 AM
  5. Why does the C6100/C6220 have 25 hard drives instead of 24?
    By nokia3310 in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-06-2013, 12:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •