Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068

    cname redirects to cgi

    Hello,

    i just created a cname as follows

    test.site.com 14400 IN CNAME site.com

    but it redirects to default cgi insted of site.com home page

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,687
    how long ago did you create this? These can take some time to setup and propagate
    WHMCS Guru - WHMCS addons, management, support and more.
    WHMCS Notifications Extended - Add slack, hipchat, SMS, pushover to WHMCS !!
    Always looking for Linux, WHMCS, Support Desk work. PM for details

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Data center
    Posts
    539
    Give it a few hours. It can take upto 24 hours for it to fully propagate. Have you tried flushing dns btw?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by NEQ3 - Sam View Post
    Give it a few hours. It can take upto 24 hours for it to fully propagate. Have you tried flushing dns btw?
    about 1.5 hours a go

    our server in usa. i am accessing from middle east.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Data center
    Posts
    539
    Quote Originally Posted by kandyjet View Post
    about 1.5 hours a go

    our server in usa. i am accessing from middle east.
    Flush your DNS. If that doesnt work, give it a few more hours. You can also try to view the website through a proxy to check.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    801
    Give it a few hours and it will work.
    Coming soon...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by NEQ3 - Sam View Post
    Flush your DNS. If that doesnt work, give it a few more hours. You can also try to view the website through a proxy to check.
    flush dns mean ipconfig /flushdns right?
    just did that,

    then check the cname propergation via whatsmydns.net and it showing all propergated

    but still cgi is what showing.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bhopal - India
    Posts
    331
    It is not going to work unless you have created an alias for site.com as test.site.com or the site.com has a Dedicated IP.
    LoopByte
    India Based Dedicated Servers, VPS & Hosting Services

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by ovais View Post
    It is not going to work unless you have created an alias for site.com as test.site.com or the site.com has a Dedicated IP.
    thanks ill check

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kandy
    Posts
    1,068
    Quote Originally Posted by ovais View Post
    It is not going to work unless you have created an alias for site.com as test.site.com or the site.com has a Dedicated IP.
    confusing, there is no such record type as 'ALIAS' in cpanel > advanced dns zone editor

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bhopal - India
    Posts
    331
    In cPanel Alias is known as Domain parking.

    From cPanel park your domain test.site.com over site.com
    LoopByte
    India Based Dedicated Servers, VPS & Hosting Services

Similar Threads

  1. Hostname redirects to cgi-sys
    By gmaister22 in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2013, 03:48 PM
  2. CNAME, CDN and Apache, will CNAME open a new http connection?
    By benzon in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2012, 03:49 AM
  3. cgi execution problem ( not found for every file inside cgi-bin directories )
    By FarzinSB in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 10:53 AM
  4. I can't remove permanent redirects in cPanel Redirects
    By Tim G in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-19-2008, 09:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •