Freelance self-hosting needs for complex apps

Looking for thoughts and ideas.

I build web based apps usually for larger SMEs - often second or third generation systems. I'll tend to work on any one system or with a client for a period of years, as their needs change and evolve rather than "make a deal and look for the next one".

Some of those clients have their own dedicated servers and hosting arrangements. They will from time to time want marketing tools such as blogs, for which I'll tend to recommend Wordpress.

All my stuff is in .NET. I have no real experience of Linux/MySql. So the blogs go onto virtual hosting packages.

The client apps get hosted on a couple of cheap test boxes I have until it's ready to go live, then it's deployed e.g. to somewhere like Rackspace (if the client is paying). I'll tend to maintain a test/dev copy.

One had a HDD failure and the other a power failure recently. No resilience: cheap boxes. But only for testing, so that's fine.

Except I can't be bothered with reinstallation and nannying them. Although I'm an OK Windows server admin (used to manage 4 dedicated boxes of my own though quite "out of touch" with the market now). I don't want to "do hosting". I want to develop stuff.

I don't mean that as a slap in the faces of the very people I'm asking for help from. I just "don't do that bit". Someone else does that bit. Someone on-site with a team, with a love of doing this sort of thing with the ability to deal with stress.

Nor do enough clients want the sort of environment that would merit a couple of dedicated managed boxes at Rackspace to "resell". They're sort of "in the middle" - too big for variably performing virtual hosting and too small for dedicated managed. (The "managed" part, especially. I'm not managing it.)

All clients have their own email and DNS, I don't go near those areas.

My ideal is: