Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    35

    32GB RAM on 32bit CentOS

    I am looking to get a dedi from servermania and they package come with 32GB RAM. But the application that I am using can run only on centos 5.x 32bit version. I read on internet that for 32bits system we can see max 16GB ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    35
    Or any other reliable dedicated provider who is using same network as Servermania's LA?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    82

    Re: 32GB RAM on 32bit CentOS

    32gb wont load in 32bit os... you need 64bit
    WebHosting should be easy, it should just work.
    Durb.co Web Hosting

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    35
    What will be the max RAM that I will be able to use on 32bits ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    194
    Install the PAE kernel. It supports up to 64GB of ram.

    yum install kernel-PAE and reboot.
    verify with free -m

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seminole, OK
    Posts
    1,575
    Quote Originally Posted by rymn View Post
    32gb wont load in 32bit os... you need 64bit
    \

    Not true

    Quote Originally Posted by raykt View Post
    I am looking to get a dedi from servermania and they package come with 32GB RAM. But the application that I am using can run only on centos 5.x 32bit version. I read on internet that for 32bits system we can see max 16GB ?
    If you use the PAE Kernel, you can use upto 64GB of Ram minus motherboard/cpu limitations.

    If your motherboard can support 64GB of ram and Cpu supports that as well then 64 is your max with PAE Kernel

    So yes if the motherboard supports 32GB of ram you can get 32GB of ram working under pae.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    35
    any other provider on quadranet apart from servermania?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    82

    Re: 32GB RAM on 32bit CentOS

    If he had to ask then he's not going to be able to do what's rrquired to reasonable host more than 32bit of adressable ram...

    Sort answer for a post like this is no..

    Quote Originally Posted by jcarney1987 View Post
    \

    Not true



    If you use the PAE Kernel, you can use upto 64GB of Ram minus motherboard/cpu limitations.

    If your motherboard can support 64GB of ram and Cpu supports that as well then 64 is your max with PAE Kernel

    So yes if the motherboard supports 32GB of ram you can get 32GB of ram working under pae.
    WebHosting should be easy, it should just work.
    Durb.co Web Hosting

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seminole, OK
    Posts
    1,575
    Quote Originally Posted by rymn View Post
    If he had to ask then he's not going to be able to do what's rrquired to reasonable host more than 32bit of adressable ram...

    Sort answer for a post like this is no..
    Let me tell you something, you don't learn with out asking the question and you don't expand your knowledge with out knowing all the possible options. Linux is well documented all over the web and you can find solutions to just about anything. Give the OP a chance to choose his route.

    He obviously has an issue since his software only runs on 32bit CentOS, even though CentOS is cross compiled to run 32bit apps, his software may check and stop the install if its not 32bit OS.

    So to give him a simple answer the he has to get 64bit is not an option and you didn't give him a valid answer. He needed to know if its possible to make 32bit CentOS see all that ram.

    Even if he doesn't know, he does have the ability to research and giving him a lead one what to research will open gateways.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    82

    Re: 32GB RAM on 32bit CentOS

    Quote Originally Posted by jcarney1987 View Post
    Let me tell you something, you don't learn with out asking the question and you don't expand your knowledge with out knowing all the possible options. Linux is well documented all over the web and you can find solutions to just about anything. Give the OP a chance to choose his route.

    He obviously has an issue since his software only runs on 32bit CentOS, even though CentOS is cross compiled to run 32bit apps, his software may check and stop the install if its not 32bit OS.

    So to give him a simple answer the he has to get 64bit is not an option and you didn't give him a valid answer. He needed to know if its possible to make 32bit CentOS see all that ram.

    Even if he doesn't know, he does have the ability to research and giving him a lead one what to research will open gateways.
    Well played sir.
    WebHosting should be easy, it should just work.
    Durb.co Web Hosting

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by raykt View Post
    any other provider on quadranet apart from servermania?
    Why not go to Quadranet themselves and cut out the middleman?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    430
    Just make 32bit vm

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seminole, OK
    Posts
    1,575
    Quote Originally Posted by saschoen View Post
    Just make 32bit vm
    That is a possible option.

    Basically what sashoen is saying is install something like OpenVZ on your 64bit system which will have a 64bit kernel and get all the memory and create a centos 5.x 32bit. Then you can add all the memory needed an so on.

    But this does getting a little more advanced than the PAE Kernel, but certainly may add more flexibility.
    Inode Hosting - Reliable Web Hosting for the right price.
    Shared & Reseller hosting featuring the industry leading cpanel
    99.9% Uptime Guarantee ,30 Day Money Back Guarantee ,24/7 Support
    Established since 2011

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,131
    Note that even with the PAE kernel, your system will see the full 64GB RAM, but each process/thread will not be able to use more than 3.75GB RAM (actually 2GB after system usage). So if your software does not spawn multiple processes, it still will be limited to the 3.75GB RAM barrier of the 32bit OS. If a single process of yours takes more than 2GB RAM, it will be limited anyway and PAE would be useless.

Similar Threads

  1. Cpanel DNS-Only VPS with 512mb RAM. Use 32bit or 64bit CentOS?
    By mrzippy in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-24-2012, 08:44 AM
  2. Upgrade CentOS 32Bit to Support >4GB RAM ?
    By htw_Mehdi in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-25-2011, 12:41 PM
  3. centOS 5x but 32bit or 64bit?
    By antondb in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 01:43 PM
  4. CentOS 32bit or 64bit
    By ckissi in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 08:32 PM
  5. CentOS 32bit to CentOS 64bit
    By TonyB in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-08-2005, 01:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •