Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Question on HDD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    30

    Question on HDD

    Is it true if we used RAID controller that has 128MB CACHE , even we are using 7200RPM 64MB Cache, its will similar to like using 128MB cache drive,

    What happens if we used 128MB cache harddrive and using raid controller that come with 128Mb cache?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    59
    A hardware RAID controller is much more efficient than a software solution and, most importantly it has a battery!

    Let's say there is a power failure : the data in the cache may well be written to the disks, while in the case of a software RAID cached data will be gone. And it can cause serious consistency problems...

Similar Threads

  1. HDD Question
    By RPGamer1 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 12:18 PM
  2. Question about second HDD
    By sarsh11 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2010, 09:47 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 06:41 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 01:47 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 10:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •