Which is more important in high bandwidth dedicated server? ram or cpu?

this is maybe odd but dont get angry pls. what is more important in a dedicated server? the cpu or the ram. if i use dual xeon quad core cpu with 8gb ram. can i manage 500k visitor per day and 75tb+ bandwidth/mo? pls reply. i am a newbie.

pls reply if i have low cpu but high ram will i be fine.

500k visitors a day is quite a bit, you may need more ram for caching and some solid state drives would be a good idea as well.

Its a hard question to answer, and you haven't given people very much time to reply.

It depends how the "high bandwidth" is generated and accessed. Just static files that can have a lot of downloads (like a CDN), could rely more on RAM. Where say a streaming server or a web application that needs to actually do stuff to generate the traffic (read: transcode or run php), might need more CPU.

75TB/month is an average of ~230Mbps, it isn't anything crazy enough that in general you'd need more cpu/IO/ram. It just comes down to how you generate the traffic.

I do also have to ask, what is the application for the server? Optimizing the hardware really depends on what you plan on doing with it.

You could get away with pretty basic specs pushing a lot of bandwidth if you're not doing anything complex.

The hardware limitations come into play when you start hosting tons of tiny random files, dynamic stuff like streaming and transcoding per the previous reply, heavy database usage, etc.

If you can give people some more specific info to go on, I'm sure they can get you set up.
    GorillaServers Inc. Dedicated Unmetered Servers
    100Mbps / 1Gbps / 10Gbps options available in Los Angeles & Ogden Utah
    Follow us @GorillaServers | GSI on Facebook