Post Starting an Cloud Business?

Hello,

I have experience running various web hosting aspects of a business. (Such as VPS, Reseller, Shared hosting, and Dedicated servers.)

However, I am new to cloud computing. I am wanting to start off in the market and offer something unique. I don't know what it is yet, but I have to figure out what I'd need in the first place to do this.

What type of software (both front end and back end..), and hardware would you need to start off? And would it be easy to add nodes to a cloud to expand it?

I want to provide a reliable service that people will enjoy using. Something someone would feel they got a great value from.

What extras do people typically include in hosting nowadays? Back when I ran a hosting service, we included free domain with certain packages, etc. I'm starting to see "free month of service" and "upgraded <such and such> for no cost" and stuff.

Any ideas would help, I just want people's opinion and would like to see if it's worth considering the Cloud business.
    Arcanum Services LLC
    "ServerHand" VPS - Dedicated Servers - cPanel Shared Hosting
    Datacenters in NYC & Orlando.

You could use Openstack or OnApp, and for cloud hosting, I would recommend multiple servers, and ideally multiple DC's.

Does the hardware have to be the same? Also, is OnApp & Openstack the backend? Also, you can create a VPS on a cloud environment, right?
    Arcanum Services LLC
    "ServerHand" VPS - Dedicated Servers - cPanel Shared Hosting
    Datacenters in NYC & Orlando.

1. Ideally they should be the same.
    2. OnApp, Openstack, etc are like solusVM, but has cloud technologies built in.
    3. Yes I think so.

5. OnApp is the best option to go with for cloud services.

Onapp is a good choice. Cloud just means redundant from the backend (failover / high availability), it's standard KVM or XEN VPS on the front-end.

Quote Originally Posted by Escaped View Post