Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    18

    cisco switch 4948e-10ge rate-limit

    Hi Guys,

    im trying to setup rate-limit.

    hrer is config
    !
    class-map match-all 300MB_RATE_LIMIT_C
    match access-group 3
    !


    !
    policy-map 300MB_RATE_LIMIT_P
    class 300MB_RATE_LIMIT_C
    police 300000000 37500000 37500000 conform-action transmit exceed-action drop
    !

    !
    interface giga 1/1
    service-policy input 300MB_RATE_LIMIT_P
    service-policy output 300MB_RATE_LIMIT_P
    !


    !

    access-list 3 permit any
    !

    after that i check the cacti graph

    but it bandwith still gose to 400MB.

    please give me any idea

    thank you !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    472
    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios/...e_Chapter.html

    Try with a lower limit, like 30Mbps and see if anything changes.
    PidginHost.com - Managed dedicated servers, cloud servers and software development.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    555
    Do you see the traffic on the uplink as well (or vlan interface if its handling layer 3 routing and its a unique VLAN)? I would think that with normal TCP/IP congestion control that yes it would stick around 300 megabits but its possible if someone is flooding or something UDP based that it could very easily still be hitting the switch with > 300 megabits of traffic but the excess traffic wouldn't transverse the uplink of the switch but the actual port the machine is hooked up to could show > 300 megabits.

    Just a possibility...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Posts
    1,119
    Quote Originally Posted by houkouonchi View Post
    Do you see the traffic on the uplink as well (or vlan interface if its handling layer 3 routing and its a unique VLAN)? I would think that with normal TCP/IP congestion control that yes it would stick around 300 megabits but its possible if someone is flooding or something UDP based that it could very easily still be hitting the switch with > 300 megabits of traffic but the excess traffic wouldn't transverse the uplink of the switch but the actual port the machine is hooked up to could show > 300 megabits.

    Just a possibility...
    Wouldn't that be the other way around? (Unless I read this wrong, your wording is kind of confusing.)
    NEPA Fiber
    AS 394868 - Wilkes-Barre, PA
    █ Fiber Internet, Dedicated Servers, Colocation, Cloud
    100% Uptime SLA - 24/7/365 Support

  5. #5
    the police command is in bytes for the burst buckets, so you will want to read the documentation for the police command.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    +1, your burst seems high.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

Similar Threads

  1. giga port switch with rate limit
    By ttgt in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-24-2012, 09:55 PM
  2. Anybody choose Cisco 4900M 10GE switch?
    By aeoio in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-19-2012, 06:54 AM
  3. 10GE going rate?
    By Eiv in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 10:14 PM
  4. Level 3 affordable switch with Rate-limit, VLAN support?
    By hostbox in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 11:32 AM
  5. what is Ingress Rate Limit and Egress Shaping Rate on linksys switch
    By darkink in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-06-2007, 10:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •