* Hosting Query - Private SSL and dedicated IP needed?

Hi,

I am new to hosting and web designing. Just getting into it to support my other initiatives.
    I have just bought hostgator(monthly) baby plan for my website to test and learn to use wordpress and other features. I am planning to host other websites as well. These will be light websites(artists... startups... etc.)

I am satisfied with hostgator and will extend to 6 months or 1 year.

My question is... If i continue with the same plan.. i will not get a private SSL and dedicated IP. How important are these things if i want to setup a basic e-commerce page on my website?

Is it possible to run the e-commerce page through an external site like bigcartel and add to my existing page instead of changing my plan to include dedicated ip and private ssl?

Please advice..
    Raul

If you want uniqueness, then go ahead and add SSL and dedicated IP.
    If you just want SSL, then use an external service.

You can install a SSL certificate without the need of a dedicated IP, so, you shouldn't need to upgrade to any other plan.
    Shared Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - Semi-Dedicated Servers - SolusVM/XEN VPS
    LiteSpeed Powered - R1Soft Continuous Data Protection - 24/7 Chat/Email/Helpdesk Support
    Cpanel/WHM - Softaculous - R1soft Backup - Litespeed - Cloudlinux -Site Builder- SSH support - Account Migration
    DowntownHost LLC - In Business since 2001- West/Center/East USA - Netherlands - Singapore

Nah, he is using Hostgator, the shared SSL uses hostgator's domain.

Question

Quote Originally Posted by Jedito View Post
    You can install a SSL certificate without the need of a dedicated IP, so, you shouldn't need to upgrade to any other plan.
    Thanks Jedito...

Can you put some light on how would i be able to install SSL certificate and how much would that cost?

Thanks in advance.