Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Nameservers question

    Quick question regarding nameservers.

    If I have my site hosted on say server1 and their nameservers are NS1 and NS2, what happens if I host my site on another server in case server1 goes down? I would setup server2 at my registrar as NS3 and NS4.

    Will visitors ONLY get to NS3 and NS4 if NS1 and NS2 are down? If not, is there a way to set it up so only NS3 and NS4 will kick in if NS1 and NS2 are down?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by WireValley View Post
    Will visitors ONLY get to NS3 and NS4 if NS1 and NS2 are down? If not, is there a way to set it up so only NS3 and NS4 will kick in if NS1 and NS2 are down?
    Someone please correct me if I'm wrong but unfortunately I don't think it's quite that simple - visitors will be able to access any of the two servers and it's possible that your traffic will be split up.

    You will want some kind of specialized secondary DNS service. The secondary servers should periodically synchronize with the primary "master" DNS zone and only kick in when needed. You can have as many secondary servers as you like but only one set of primary servers.
    www.EasiestWebHosting.com - Keep it Simple.
    ● Web Hosting Should Be Easy! No technical jargon, no problems, no frustration.
    ● Low-cost high-quality shared hosting packages, optimized for small projects and WordPress blogs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    World Wide Web
    Posts
    581
    If you add two set of active nameservers for one domain, If one set of nameservers are not listening, it will load from the active ones.

    But there is always a chance of conflicts when both sets are active. Domain will sometimes loads from one server and sometimes from second, depends on response time, resolution, propagation etc. It will cause downtimes in some areas, which can be viewed via alertra
    SupportExpertz.com - the name says it all!
    Managed Cloud Servers
    Server Management and Monitoring
    24x7 outsourced customer support

  4. #4
    Hummm... okay. So what is the best option to get setup on a 2nd server in case first 1 goes down?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    116
    After a quick Google search, these seem to be the most popular options (although I should say I've never used any of them):

    http://www.dnsmadeeasy.com/services/secondary-dns/
    http://www.buddyns.com/services/dns-replication/
    http://dyn.com/secondary-dns/

    Also I found a good explanation of the whole concept here:
    http://www.simpledns.com/help/v50/in...ht_primsec.htm

    You may want to ask here for recommendations/reviews from people who have used these services, or search WHT - looks like this may have been discussed before (although the info maybe isn't as relative when some of the threads are 5-9 years old..).
    www.EasiestWebHosting.com - Keep it Simple.
    ● Web Hosting Should Be Easy! No technical jargon, no problems, no frustration.
    ● Low-cost high-quality shared hosting packages, optimized for small projects and WordPress blogs.

  6. #6
    1- add the two ns server to the domine
    2- add your domine in cpanel parked domine

    now 100% active

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by flydahli View Post
    1- add the two ns server to the domine
    2- add your domine in cpanel parked domine

    now 100% active
    I re-read this 3 times. LoL I'm still confused please explain further?

  8. #8
    Does anyone know how to change your dns so you can give customers ns1.youdomain.com?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by Hostomer View Post
    Does anyone know how to change your dns so you can give customers ns1.youdomain.com?
    You will need to purchase a dedicated IP address so that you can set up private nameservers.
    www.EasiestWebHosting.com - Keep it Simple.
    ● Web Hosting Should Be Easy! No technical jargon, no problems, no frustration.
    ● Low-cost high-quality shared hosting packages, optimized for small projects and WordPress blogs.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    760
    Do you have two servers running the same site and one server uses nameservers ns1&ns2 and the second servers uses nameservers ns3&ns4? If you setup your DNS like this then visitors could visit either server.

    If a visitor was directed towards server one and it was down then i would assume that they would not automatically be directed to server two but i have never tried this kind of setup.

    I would think the easiest way would be to setup a DNS cluster and then all you have to do is change the site/account A record to point to another server if you wished to change the server you were using and the nameservers would not need to be changed.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,842
    Quote Originally Posted by WireValley View Post
    Quick question regarding nameservers.

    If I have my site hosted on say server1 and their nameservers are NS1 and NS2, what happens if I host my site on another server in case server1 goes down? I would setup server2 at my registrar as NS3 and NS4.
    The question usually arises when providers are using the basic, crappy control panel default setup with "both" nameservers running on the same machine, ie. NS1 and NS2 are actually both server1, NS3 and NS4 are both server2. With a proper setup either NS1 or NS2 (or both) would be on a completely different machine in a different location, so an outage affecting a single machine, rack or even an entire datacenter can't take them both out.

    With that (correct) setup, if server1 goes down, DNS resolution is unaffected, websites on server2 are unaffected, websites on server1 are down.

    Will visitors ONLY get to NS3 and NS4 if NS1 and NS2 are down? If not, is there a way to set it up so only NS3 and NS4 will kick in if NS1 and NS2 are down?
    No and no. But there is a way to get the effect you're looking for. The first thing you must do is ensure that in normal operation all nameservers you use return the same answers. If you're going to delegate to NS1, 2, 3 and 4 then any one can be used for domain resolution and they all need to point to the same server(s). Then for the failover part, you don't have other nameservers "kicking in", instead you change the A records on all (working) nameservers to point to the working webserver(s). So you end up with a connected system of clustered / slave nameservers, a monitoring system to detect when a webserver goes down and a controller to change A records for all affected domains on all the nameservers.

    This is called DNS failover, and if you don't want the hassle of setting it up yourself then you can get it as a service from most of the specialist DNS providers.
    Last edited by foobic; 09-29-2013 at 06:58 AM.
    Chris

    "Some problems are so complex that you have to be highly intelligent and well informed just to be undecided about them." - Laurence J. Peter

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    North and South America
    Posts
    166
    I think that you should separate your wanting a site that doesn't go down and the discussion about nameservers. With typical Nameserver setup and a quality control panel like WHM/cPanel, you use your Domain Registrar and Create a Nameserver Host there where you point ns1.yourdomain.com and ns2.yourdomain.com each to an IP address. The IP address is then configured in cPanel via DNS Functions-> Nameserver IP's. Now wait a few hours and any domain name that selects ns1.yourdomain.com and ns2.yourdomain.com as their nameserver will have their traffic pointed to your server and if you add an account and setup that domain in cPanel then the loop will be completed. Sounds scarry but any good host can walk you through this.

    Separately, consider that having a website that stays up is a matter of finding a good host and having a properly setup and administered machine. Hosting takes configuration (like nameservers), hardening (a process of making things more secure), review (reading logs), tweaking (optimizing things now and then) and a continued level of upgrading and support (to make sure Apps and server software are all up to date). Then you have to have proper backups. Repeat: Then you have to have proper backups! Either you, someone you hire or you host will do all of these things. Skip some items and your server will have problems. The longer it goes unmaintained the greater possibility of problems. A good quality host and good administration are all you need for stability. Trying to achieve any level of fault tolerance without first and foremost doing these things is a waste of money and time.
    Last edited by gPowerHost; 09-29-2013 at 08:59 AM. Reason: spelling! and clarification

Similar Threads

  1. [Question] about nameservers
    By Asasi in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2011, 08:16 AM
  2. Question about Nameservers
    By kellyboyce in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-28-2004, 02:55 AM
  3. Question about nameservers...
    By wiredpioneer in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-12-2003, 04:30 PM
  4. .uk nameservers question
    By GazCBG in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-31-2002, 04:06 PM
  5. Question about nameservers
    By vito in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2002, 08:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •