hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : How to install GD2 using WHM/CPanel?
Reply

Forum Jump

How to install GD2 using WHM/CPanel?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 75

How to install GD2 using WHM/CPanel?


Is it possible to install GD2 using WHM/Cpanel? I used to have GD on my server but after I upgraded to PHP 4.3.1 it kinda disappeared so I'm wondering how I can get it installed/enabled? Thanks.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,377
Look for the Install RPM, look over to the right scroll through the list of stuff, and you should see GD in there

  #3  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,377
Look for the Install RPM, look over to the right scroll through the list of stuff, and you should see GD in there

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,289
run this command below as root if you have cpanel

/scripts/easyapache

__________________
P4HOST.COM -- Specialize in quality Web Hosting solutions.
Affordable -- Prices are very comparative
Reliable -- Very low load average guaranteed. 60 day money back. Fast Support --Support Forum -- Providing hosting since 2003

  #5  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,009
You probably still have it just that your php was compiled without the support enabled in the compile options. Do what inteltechs suggested. Options 2-5 (if I remember correctly) all have GD support. Or you can go for Advanced configuration and enter the PHP menu. Here you can enable not only GD, but other stuff as well such as Curl, Flash, Truetype font and more.

Cheers.

__________________
Like us on Facebook to qualify for discounts!
http://www.sprintserve.net
Offering: | Internap FCP Bandwidth! | Rebootless Kernel Updates! | Magento Optimized Hosting | Wordpress Hosting |
Services: | Managed Multiple Cores 64bit Servers | Server Management |

  #6  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 951
run:
/scripts/easyapache

with option 4
that's all

  #7  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 42
Great! :)

/scripts/easyapache

with option 4

its realy works, and now I can use gd2libs with out recompile PHP or Apache (this script do it) and now I'm able to use libjpg, libpng, etc..

Thank you!

Luciano Tourreilles

  #8  
Old
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luciano View Post
/scripts/easyapache

with option 4

its realy works, and now I can use gd2libs with out recompile PHP or Apache (this script do it) and now I'm able to use libjpg, libpng, etc..

Thank you!

Luciano Tourreilles
how do you do this?

i log into ssh as root, then run /scripts/easyapache. After that i type option 4(literally) in the comand line and I get an err msg.... help

  #9  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 340
Hi,

What error message do you get ? Paste the entire error in your reply.

  #10  
Old
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
COMMAND 'option 4" failed with return code 127 and error messege -bash line 8 option command not found

  #11  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 340
We would suggest the following, login into the server using SSH.

A forceful cPanel update is recommended,
Quote:
/scripts/upcp --force

1. /scripts/easyapache

2. Select option 1 "Previously Saved Config"

3. Select "Start customizing based on profile"

4. Select the next Apache version to upgrade or select Next

5. Select the version of PHP 4 or 5. Do not make any changes if you're not sure. Keep it as it as and select Next

6. Select the minor version of PHP.

7. Select Exhaustive Options List

8. PHP section has "GD" make sure you select it and select any other additional modules you require and select Next

This should start compiling Apache and PHP depending on the options selected. Check the phpinfo() page for a GD section.

  #12  
Old
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by eth1 View Post
We would suggest the following, login into the server using SSH.

A forceful cPanel update is recommended,



1. /scripts/easyapache

2. Select option 1 "Previously Saved Config"

3. Select "Start customizing based on profile"

4. Select the next Apache version to upgrade or select Next

5. Select the version of PHP 4 or 5. Do not make any changes if you're not sure. Keep it as it as and select Next

6. Select the minor version of PHP.

7. Select Exhaustive Options List

8. PHP section has "GD" make sure you select it and select any other additional modules you require and select Next

This should start compiling Apache and PHP depending on the options selected. Check the phpinfo() page for a GD section.
i got it. thanks

  #13  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 340
Wonderful. Nice to know.

  #14  
Old
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
do you know how o tturn on the XsltProcessor and installed mbstring extension?

  #15  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 340
You can follow the same procedure and under "Exhaustive Options List" > Other Modules >

Select Mcrypt and XSL.

Select Next to start Compiling PHP with Apache with XSL and Mcrypt support.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
GoDaddy Supports cPanel as Part of Web Hosting Updates Web Hosting News 2014-05-09 12:40:20
Siter Launches cPanel Plugin for Domain Dialing Web Hosting News 2013-08-20 16:15:40
cPanel & WHM Software 11.36 Reaches Stable Tier Status Web Hosting News 2013-04-09 11:44:33
cPanel Security Updates Address Perl Module Vulnerabilities Web Hosting News 2012-12-06 12:55:54
Hosting Control Panel cPanel & WHM 11.34 Release Hits Stable Tier Web Hosting News 2012-11-12 17:04:57


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?