Results 1 to 28 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    66

    Exclamation TINET & Comcast peering links overloaded in Atlanta

    Hi,

    I was wondering if anyone in else noticed high latency between TINET and Comcast in the Atlanta market.

    I'm getting a 63-64ms increase from a node on TINET to another node on Comcast's network.

    It seems like the peering link between TINET and Comcast in the Atlanta market is overloaded...

    traceroute to 66.56.28.1 (66.56.28.1), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
    1 bivek-networks-llc.ethernet.6509-aa.34.coloat.com (<redacted>) 0.280 ms
    0.344 ms 0.407 ms
    2 xe1-4.edge-aa.atl01.coloat.com (184.170.251.245) 0.397 ms 0.449 ms 0.547
    ms
    3 ae1-213.atl11.ip4.tinet.net (173.241.130.53) 0.228 ms 0.232 ms 0.232 ms
    4 be-10-703-pe01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net (75.149.230.73) 63.875 ms
    63.877 ms 63.879 ms
    5 pos-3-4-0-0-cr01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.87.137) 66.453 ms
    66.462 ms 66.464 ms
    6 68.86.94.42 (68.86.94.42) 63.592 ms 63.629 ms 63.629 ms
    7 68.86.107.102 (68.86.107.102) 64.195 ms
    xe-11-2-0-0-sur01.d8decatur.ga.atlanta.comcast.net (68.86.106.157) 64.154 ms
    64.151 ms
    8 66.56.28.1 (66.56.28.1) 64.396 ms 64.287 ms 64.291 ms
    Last edited by Kett2004; 09-25-2013 at 05:22 PM.
    Bivek Networks, LLC | Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Lenoir (NC), New York City, San Jose (CA) | AH.FM Online Radio USA Relays | Snapgram Image Hosting | FLV2Audio YouTube Converter | YouSaved.it File Hosting and more...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Its not news that Comcast has congested their network interconnections with a lot of other networks... quite typical of Comcast.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4,487
    Having the same issues pop up with Cogent too. It's usually the fault of Comcast.

    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    Its not news that Comcast has congested their network interconnections with a lot of other networks... quite typical of Comcast.
    Any other networks that aren't congested to Comcast? All the budget ones seem to have issues. Not sure about the more expensive providers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Quote Originally Posted by techjr View Post
    Having the same issues pop up with Cogent too. It's usually the fault of Comcast.



    Any other networks that aren't congested to Comcast? All the budget ones seem to have issues. Not sure about the more expensive providers.
    The only sure thing is peering directly with Comcast, with the next best being Level3. This is the exact reason we've had both in the mix since 2009. But we still play routing whack-a-mole with Verizon from time to time :/
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    66
    I've discovered why the latency is so high...

    On the return path Comcast is attempting to route traffic through San Jose instead of Atlanta. The inbound path is routed locally.


    [{"af":4,"dst_addr":"74.119.147.98","dst_name":"74.119.147.98","endtime":1380157154,"from":"71.204.97.188","fw":4550,"msm_id":1028043,"msm_name":
    "Traceroute","paris_id":1,"prb_id":12144,"proto":"ICMP","result":[

    {"hop":1,"result":[{"from":"192.168.1.1","rtt":1.096,"size":88,"ttl":64},{"from":"192.168.1.1","rtt":0.846,"size":88,"ttl":64},{"from":"192.168.1.1","rtt":0.835,"size":8 8,"ttl":64}]},

    {"hop":2,"result":[{"from":"71.204.96.1","ittl":0,"rtt":35.394,"size":56,"ttl":254},{"from":"71.204.96.1","ittl":0,"rtt":30.417,"size":56,"ttl":254},{"from":"71.204.96.1 ","ittl":0,"rtt":29.438,"size":56,"ttl":254}]},

    {"hop":3,"result":[{"from":"68.85.91.149","rtt":4.763,"size":56,"ttl":252},{"from":"68.85.91.149","rtt":10.932,"size":56,"ttl":252},{"from":"68.85.91.149","rtt":9.926,"s ize":56,"ttl":252}]},

    {"hop":4,"result":[{"from":"68.85.111.213","rtt":8.928,"size":56,"ttl":252},{"from":"68.85.111.213","rtt":9.541,"size":56,"ttl":252},{"from":"68.85.111.213","rtt":10.778 ,"size":56,"ttl":252}]},

    {"hop":5,"result":[{"from":"68.85.111.181","rtt":8.583,"size":56,"ttl":251},{"from":"68.85.111.181","rtt":18.849,"size":56,"ttl":251},{"from":"68.85.111.181","rtt":10.07 9,"size":56,"ttl":251}]},

    {"hop":6,"result":[{"from":"68.86.93.125","rtt":10.519,"size":96,"ttl":251},{"from":"68.86.93.125","rtt":9.284,"size":96,"ttl":251},{"from":"68.86.93.125","rtt":13.749," size":96,"ttl":251}]},

    {"hop":7,"result":[{"from":"68.86.85.157","rtt":27.895,"size":96,"ttl":250},{"from":"68.86.85.157","rtt":29.25,"size":96,"ttl":250},{"from":"68.86.85.157","rtt":41.514," size":96,"ttl":250}]},

    {"hop":8,"result":[{"from":"68.86.85.141","rtt":62.051,"size":96,"ttl":249},{"from":"68.86.85.141","rtt":57.597,"size":96,"ttl":249},{"from":"68.86.85.141","rtt":61.69," size":96,"ttl":249}]},

    {"hop":9,"result":[{"from":"68.86.89.217","rtt":74.236,"size":96,"ttl":248},{"from":"68.86.89.217","rtt":73.174,"size":96,"ttl":248},{"from":"68.86.89.217","rtt":81.742, "size":96,"ttl":248}]},

    {"hop":10,"result":[{"from":"68.86.86.54","rtt":79.574,"size":96,"ttl":247},{"from":"68.86.86.54","rtt":77.086,"size":96,"ttl":247},{"from":"68.86.86.54","rtt":85.924,"si ze":96,"ttl":247}]},

    {"hop":11,"result":[{"from":"213.200.80.165","rtt":75.684,"size":56,"ttl":246},{"from":"213.200.80.165","rtt":76.954,"size":56,"ttl":246},{"from":"213.200.80.165","rtt":7 8.395,"size":56,"ttl":246}]},

    {"hop":12,"result":[{"from":"141.136.109.197","rtt":83.124,"size":56,"ttl":248},{"from":"141.136.109.197","rtt":75.888,"size":56,"ttl":248},{"from":"141.136.109.197","rtt ":83.903,"size":56,"ttl":248}]},

    {"hop":13,"result":[{"from":"173.241.130.54","rtt":76.723,"size":56,"ttl":248},{"from":"173.241.130.54","rtt":74.848,"size":56,"ttl":248},{"from":"173.241.130.54","rtt":7 9.933,"size":56,"ttl":248}]},

    {"hop":14,"result":[{"from":"184.170.251.246","rtt":75.251,"size":56,"ttl":246},{"from":"184.170.251.246","rtt":82.757,"size":56,"ttl":246},{"from":"184.170.251.246","rtt ":76.399,"size":56,"ttl":246}]},

    {"hop":15,"result":[{"from":"74.119.147.98","rtt":74.471,"size":60,"ttl":55},{"from":"74.119.147.98","rtt":75.916,"size":60,"ttl":55}

    {"from":"74.119.147.98","rtt":76.066,"size":60,"ttl":55}]}],"size":40,"src_addr":"192.168.1.100","timestamp":1380157151,"type":"traceroute"}]

    Note that:

    Hop 4: Atlanta (comcast)
    Hop 5: Atlanta (comcast)
    Hop 6: Dallas (comcast)
    Hop 9: California (comcast)
    Hop 10: Tinet - San Jose
    tinet -> Atlanta -> C@ ->me
    Bivek Networks, LLC | Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Lenoir (NC), New York City, San Jose (CA) | AH.FM Online Radio USA Relays | Snapgram Image Hosting | FLV2Audio YouTube Converter | YouSaved.it File Hosting and more...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,507
    I can get to both your source and destination (from Dallas) in about 1/3rd the ping time. I also note that I take nlayer to your source ip (coloat) meaning they have nlayer in the mix, and I note that nlayer looking glass in ATL shows all clear to your destination comcast atlanta IP.

    I suspect colo@ could fix things for you with some tweaks. What carrier does comcast hop onto on the route back via san jose?

    Comcast is definitely doing some funky routing, but as others say it isn't new, but can be avoided with more carriers in the mix.

    http://d.pr/i/X1kK/5znjExc7
    Quote Originally Posted by nlayer atl lookingglass to comcast ip in atl
    PING 66.56.28.1 (66.56.28.1): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 66.56.28.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=249 time=5.080 ms
    64 bytes from 66.56.28.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=249 time=4.884 ms
    64 bytes from 66.56.28.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=249 time=4.261 ms
    64 bytes from 66.56.28.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=249 time=5.094 ms
    64 bytes from 66.56.28.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=249 time=4.780 ms

    Dallas to your Atlanta destination (comcast?):
    Host Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
    1. 23.29.119.113 0.0% 13 2.1 2.1 1.8 2.2 0.1
    2. r1-side-from-bc1.inceronetwork.com 0.0% 13 0.2 0.2 0.2 0.4 0.0
    3. ae0.er1.dfw2.us.above.net 0.0% 13 0.4 0.4 0.4 0.4 0.0
    4. above-comcast.dfw2.us.above.net 0.0% 13 3.7 3.0 0.9 4.7 1.1
    5. pos-2-2-0-0-cr01.dallas.tx.ibone.comcast.net 0.0% 13 3.2 3.5 1.6 5.6 1.3
    6. pos-1-4-0-0-cr01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net 0.0% 13 23.4 22.7 20.9 24.3 1.2
    7. 68.86.91.254 0.0% 13 20.9 22.9 20.9 47.0 7.2
    8. xe-11-2-0-0-sur01.d8decatur.ga.atlanta.comcast.net 0.0% 12 21.4 21.7 21.4 24.1 0.8
    68.86.107.102
    9. 66.56.28.1 0.0% 12 21.4 21.4 21.4 21.4 0.0
    Dallas to your start point (colo@):
    1. 23.29.119.113 0.0% 6 2.0 2.0 1.8 2.1 0.1
    2. r1-side-from-bc1.inceronetwork.com 0.0% 6 0.2 0.2 0.2 0.3 0.0
    3. ae5.ar2.dfw1.us.nlayer.net 0.0% 6 1.8 1.6 1.2 1.8 0.2
    4. ae0-50g.cr2.dfw1.us.nlayer.net 0.0% 6 3.1 32.5 0.6 132.2 53.3
    5. xe-0-0-1.cr1.iah1.us.nlayer.net 0.0% 6 6.1 6.1 6.1 6.1 0.0
    6. xe-4-2-1.cr1.atl1.us.nlayer.net 0.0% 5 20.0 20.0 20.0 20.1 0.0
    7. ae1-40g.cr2.atl1.us.nlayer.net 0.0% 5 20.2 20.3 20.2 20.3 0.1
    8. as46562.ae6-1677.cr2.atl1.us.nlayer.net 0.0% 5 20.7 20.5 20.3 20.7 0.1
    9. xe9-4.dist-ab.atl01.coloat.com 0.0% 5 20.2 20.2 20.2 20.3 0.0
    10. xe1-4.edge-aa.atl01.coloat.com 0.0% 5 20.3 20.4 20.3 20.5 0.1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    Quote Originally Posted by gordonrp View Post
    I can get to both your source and destination (from Dallas) in about 1/3rd the ping time. I also note that I take nlayer to your source ip (coloat) meaning they have nlayer in the mix, and I note that nlayer looking glass in ATL shows all clear to your destination comcast atlanta IP.

    I suspect colo@ could fix things for you with some tweaks. What carrier does comcast hop onto on the route back via san jose?

    Comcast is definitely doing some funky routing, but as others say it isn't new, but can be avoided with more carriers in the mix.

    http://d.pr/i/X1kK/5znjExc7



    Dallas to your Atlanta destination (comcast?):


    Dallas to your start point (colo@):

    Comcast's cross-country routing scenic tours are unfortunately nothing new. We used to have massive problems with Comcast/Savvis in regards to this in that Comcast would do 'creative' routing on their part to hand off to less-loaded peering points in other locations. Frankly, playing with the routes and trying to prepend blocks and start pushing up communities to prepend to certain ASN(s) in carrier networks hasn't worked well with Comcast. What ever they use to do their path selection is quite heavy handed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by gordonrp View Post
    I can get to both your source and destination (from Dallas) in about 1/3rd the ping time. I also note that I take nlayer to your source ip (coloat) meaning they have nlayer in the mix, and I note that nlayer looking glass in ATL shows all clear to your destination comcast atlanta IP.

    I suspect colo@ could fix things for you with some tweaks. What carrier does comcast hop onto on the route back via san jose?

    Comcast is definitely doing some funky routing, but as others say it isn't new, but can be avoided with more carriers in the mix.

    http://d.pr/i/X1kK/5znjExc7



    Dallas to your Atlanta destination (comcast?):


    Dallas to your start point (colo@):
    Gordon,

    The carrier Comcast hops on to in San Jose is TINET.
    Last edited by Kett2004; 09-26-2013 at 12:28 AM. Reason: formatting corrections
    Bivek Networks, LLC | Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Lenoir (NC), New York City, San Jose (CA) | AH.FM Online Radio USA Relays | Snapgram Image Hosting | FLV2Audio YouTube Converter | YouSaved.it File Hosting and more...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    66
    Just wanted to chime in that I contacted the Comcast Peering NOC Point of Contact (POC) via email and the issue seems to be resolved.

    traceroute to 66.56.28.1 (66.56.28.1), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
    <CENSORED>
    2 xe1-4.edge-aa.atl01.coloat.com (184.170.251.245) 0.317 ms 0.353 ms 0.445
    ms
    3 ae1-213.atl11.ip4.tinet.net (173.241.130.53) 0.193 ms 0.201 ms 0.235 ms
    4 be-10-703-pe01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net (75.149.230.73) 1.997 ms
    2.050 ms 2.050 ms
    5 pos-3-4-0-0-cr01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.87.137) 1.555 ms
    1.603 ms 1.676 ms
    6 68.86.94.42 (68.86.94.42) 1.089 ms 1.111 ms 1.103 ms
    7 68.86.107.102 (68.86.107.102) 1.688 ms 1.656 ms 1.640 ms
    8 66.56.28.1 (66.56.28.1) 1.810 ms 1.816 ms 1.774 ms
    Last edited by RSkeens; 11-11-2013 at 07:51 PM.
    Bivek Networks, LLC | Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Lenoir (NC), New York City, San Jose (CA) | AH.FM Online Radio USA Relays | Snapgram Image Hosting | FLV2Audio YouTube Converter | YouSaved.it File Hosting and more...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Well, thats surprising... lol

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,523
    Quote Originally Posted by techjr View Post
    Any other networks that aren't congested to Comcast? All the budget ones seem to have issues. Not sure about the more expensive providers.
    Currently all Tier-1 (Premiums) seem to ask if you send any traffic to Comcast or Verizon and if you do, expect some interesting (high) pricing for your bandwidth needs
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Europe & US locations, we operate our own network AS35017
    Unbeatable dedicated bandwidth deals for Dedicated servers ! Support response time <15 minutes 24/7

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Quote Originally Posted by swiftnoc View Post
    Currently all Tier-1 (Premiums) seem to ask if you send any traffic to Comcast or Verizon and if you do, expect some interesting (high) pricing for your bandwidth needs
    Kind of wondered if/when that would happen.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Good question
    Posts
    693
    Honestly speaking, it's hard to find a provider who's not congested to Comcast at key markets these days.

    Routing around gets annoying especially with them loving their scenic routes so much.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Atlanta, Jawja
    Posts
    3,066
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    Its not news that Comcast has congested their network interconnections with a lot of other networks... quite typical of Comcast.
    It's not as bad as you think it is... at least not in ATL or Massachusetts.

    Yes, it can get busy at times, but Comcast is working to increase capacity and pipeline sizes across their entire network.

    kett2004, I wish you would have posted the IP you're trying to traceroute from. I actually did a tracert to your IP (Decatur? Dude, I'm right in Indian Creek, haha!)

    Tracing route to 66.56.28.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 12 ms 12 ms 11 ms xe-10-0-0-32767-sur01.d3stonemtn.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.85.90.9]
    3 11 ms 11 ms 15 ms 68.85.110.189
    4 14 ms 18 ms 12 ms 68.85.111.42
    5 13 ms 10 ms 11 ms 66.56.28.1
    Interesting how the ping times jump up once I reach the Coloat facility. It looks like they might have internal routing problems, as the ping response times are FANTASTIC until after we get into the distribution cores:

    C:\>tracert 184.170.251.245

    Tracing route to xe1-4.edge-aa.atl01.coloat.com [184.170.251.245]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 30 ms 25 ms 23 ms 24.98.152.1
    2 11 ms 23 ms 10 ms xe-10-0-0-32767-sur01.d3stonemtn.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.85.90.9]

    3 12 ms 67 ms 16 ms 68.86.106.45
    4 19 ms 15 ms 18 ms he-5-13-0-0-10-cr01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.93.201]
    5 15 ms 13 ms 17 ms pos-0-11-0-0-pe01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.88.186]
    6 17 ms 18 ms 14 ms 173.167.57.134
    7 13 ms 15 ms 14 ms ae3-40g.cr2.atl1.us.nlayer.net [69.31.135.165]
    8 12 ms 14 ms 13 ms as46562.ae6-1677.cr2.atl1.us.nlayer.net [198.47.120.146]
    9 21 ms 13 ms 12 ms xe9-4.dist-ab.atl01.coloat.com [184.170.251.254]
    10 221 ms 201 ms 216 ms xe1-4.edge-aa.atl01.coloat.com [184.170.251.245]
    Douglas Hazard - Certifiable Sports Junkie and Sports Community Enthusiast

    Host of Two Cents Radio - Follow @TwoCentsRadio on Twitter (@BearlyDoug on Twitter)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas View Post
    It's not as bad as you think it is... at least not in ATL or Massachusetts.

    Yes, it can get busy at times, but Comcast is working to increase capacity and pipeline sizes across their entire network.

    kett2004, I wish you would have posted the IP you're trying to traceroute from. I actually did a tracert to your IP (Decatur? Dude, I'm right in Indian Creek, haha!)



    Interesting how the ping times jump up once I reach the Coloat facility. It looks like they might have internal routing problems, as the ping response times are FANTASTIC until after we get into the distribution cores:
    There are no internal routing problems, try using a host within the network as a destination rather than a network device which is icmp rate limited.

    for example, try speed.atl.coloat.com

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    The backplane
    Posts
    1,790
    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas View Post
    It's not as bad as you think it is... at least not in ATL or Massachusetts.
    It's awful in some markets.

    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas View Post
    Comcast is working to increase capacity and pipeline sizes across their entire network.
    I'm expecting to see pigs out my window any day now.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Atlanta, Jawja
    Posts
    3,066
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanD View Post
    There are no internal routing problems, try using a host within the network as a destination rather than a network device which is icmp rate limited.

    for example, try speed.atl.coloat.com
    Ryan, I was only working within the confines of the original post. That's all I had to go on, haha!

    C:\>tracert speed.atl.coloat.com

    Tracing route to speed.atl.coloat.com [98.142.209.234]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 42 ms 25 ms 29 ms 24.98.152.1
    2 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms xe-10-0-0-32767-sur01.d3stonemtn.ga.atlanta.comcast.net [68.85.90.9]
    3 13 ms 14 ms 17 ms 68.86.106.45
    4 17 ms 13 ms 16 ms he-5-14-0-0-10-cr01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.91.253]
    5 23 ms 20 ms 15 ms pos-0-11-0-0-pe01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.88.186]
    6 37 ms 13 ms 15 ms as3257-pe01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net [75.149.230.74]
    7 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms total-server-solutions-gw.ip4.tinet.net [173.241.130.54]
    8 14 ms 15 ms 17 ms 184.170.248.206
    9 14 ms 17 ms 19 ms speed.atl.coloat.com [98.142.209.234]
    Only a SLIGHT bottleneck within the Comcast network, but not enough of one to really cause any issues. Anything under 50ms is fairly decent, IMHO.

    Quote Originally Posted by Microlinux View Post
    It's awful in some markets.
    I don't doubt that, but their network upgrade can't happen overnight. They only started it earlier this year. I think I remember hearing that it'd be about a 2 year deployment cycle to get everyone upgraded.
    Quote Originally Posted by Microlinux View Post
    I'm expecting to see pigs out my window any day now.
    Send me your address and I'll send you a shipment of squeaking toy pigs to put on your windowsill, haha! (and yes, this is a joke)

    Kett, just realized that the bottleneck is in Marietta. Wonder if they're having issues up there. Have you tried posting/reading on the Comcast Customer forums?
    Douglas Hazard - Certifiable Sports Junkie and Sports Community Enthusiast

    Host of Two Cents Radio - Follow @TwoCentsRadio on Twitter (@BearlyDoug on Twitter)

  18. #18
    Comcast has issues everywhere, we get complaints daily and they all have 1 common factor......Comcast.
    ReliableSite.Net LLC - Offering Enterprise Grade Dedicated Servers Since 2006 [New York City metro / Miami, FL]
    Customers are our #1 priority - Read Our Reviews
    Looking to switch providers? We have amazing deals and a 10 minute setup time! Click here to view incredible deals.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    267
    I live in Atlanta and even getting via Comcast to 56marietta I am now getting 5% packet loss, lag spikes up to 200ms during peak usage pretty frequently. 56marrieta is 2 miles away.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by petrushka View Post
    I live in Atlanta and even getting via Comcast to 56marietta I am now getting 5% packet loss, lag spikes up to 200ms during peak usage pretty frequently. 56marrieta is 2 miles away.
    Tinet used to (maybe still does) go down to Miami and back for Atlanta locals to reach 56.
    RamNode - #1 SSD VPS
    High Performance SSD and SSD-Cached VPS
    NYC - LA - ATL - SEA - NL - 1Gbps - IPv6 - DDoS Protection - AS3842
    Get your super fast VPS today! - www.ramnode.com

  21. #21
    One of my customers has some stuff in the Colo@ facility in Atlanta. He was having trouble getting decent throughput from another one of his sites, going out over TINET to it - so definitely think there has been a problem.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    317
    Quote Originally Posted by swiftnoc View Post
    Currently all Tier-1 (Premiums) seem to ask if you send any traffic to Comcast or Verizon and if you do, expect some interesting (high) pricing for your bandwidth needs
    I have never had any major carrier (NTT, Telia Sonera, Level(3)) ask such questions.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,523
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudComputingLV View Post
    I have never had any major carrier (NTT, Telia Sonera, Level(3)) ask such questions.
    When was the last time you added capacity?
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Europe & US locations, we operate our own network AS35017
    Unbeatable dedicated bandwidth deals for Dedicated servers ! Support response time <15 minutes 24/7

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    317
    Quote Originally Posted by swiftnoc View Post
    When was the last time you added capacity?
    Infact, I just spoke to NTT yesterday. We just signed a contract with TiNet 60-days ago. Level(3) around 120 days ago. Spoke to Telia yesterday (Thursday). The question has never come up.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,523
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudComputingLV View Post
    Infact, I just spoke to NTT yesterday. We just signed a contract with TiNet 60-days ago. Level(3) around 120 days ago. Spoke to Telia yesterday (Thursday). The question has never come up.
    That means that you have not gotten the lowest possible price for your bandwidth deals and/or did not commit to much bandwidth and ports.
    Questions like this will come up if you negotiated a real aggressive rate and if you have a lot of 10 Gbps / 40 Gbps or 100 Gbps ports.

    With what ASN your connected to NTT, level3 and Tinet? it does not seem your network is connected to any of those:
    http://bgp.he.net/AS62553
    Last edited by swiftnoc; 09-27-2013 at 06:13 AM.
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Europe & US locations, we operate our own network AS35017
    Unbeatable dedicated bandwidth deals for Dedicated servers ! Support response time <15 minutes 24/7

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    317
    We are waiting on Switch to run our x-connect. We just got our Linknet a few days ago from TiNet. Now where did I say that we signed a contract for ourselves for NTT? I never made such statement.

    Level(3) is working on provisioning our circuit. No worries. They'll both be in there when we have the circuits lit. .

    You should clarified and stated that when buying a lot of ports of 10GE / 100GE that you may get asked such questions. Just wanted to answer your answers .

    But, I think we are getting completely off topic here.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudComputingLV View Post
    I have never had any major carrier (NTT, Telia Sonera, Level(3)) ask such questions.
    It may depend upon your volume, or if they get the idea that you're heavy on certain AS. We're often asked for our ratio of China traffic.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    267
    For my home internet usage, still been having major issues with Comcast particularly the last week.

    I ended up getting Clear's 4g wireless in addition. We are in a bad coverage area so are getting about 1mbps download, 0.5mbps upload, instead of the 15mbps or so that I've seen in good areas. Still it doesn't have the huge packet loss and 1-3 second latency spikes I see with Comcast so it is actually working better.

    We are still keeping Comcast (which performs these days around 1.5mbps maximum for us, on a 50mbps plan that until 4 months ago easily got 15-30mbps), this way my wife uses the Comcast which is "ok" (with a little bit of studdering here and there) for youtube/netflix and I use the Clear account so we aren't saturating all the bandwidth. I'm of course going to downgrade our Comcast plan from the 50mbps one to their minimum one (6mbps supposedly).

    Not the perfect solution, but so far it is working much better than being on Comcast alone.

Similar Threads

  1. Comcast paid peering / transit for better routes to comcast users?
    By nekrogoblikon in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-14-2012, 04:57 AM
  2. Comcast Peering
    By mtsu_bravo in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 04:38 AM
  3. Comcast Peering in California
    By Mike Johnson in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 01:00 PM
  4. Softlayer Adds Private Peering with Comcast
    By HD Fanatic in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-03-2008, 07:20 PM
  5. Comcast, Verizon and QWest peering.
    By RelativeDesign-Jerret in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 04:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •