Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006

    Question mdadm and resync

    Hello, in your experience is possible cause data corruption if you stop a resync in software raid?

    I have a server that needs to be power off for hardware upgrade and I can not wait to complete the resync (is very slow).

    Thank you.

  2. #2

    Resync interrupt


    How safe this is depends on whether or not you are performing a "regular" resync or if you are actually resyncing after a hardware (drive) failure and rebuild.

    If this is a scheduled resync you may place it into idle mode on most distros with something like
    # echo "idle" > /sys/block/md0/md/sync_action

    you may need to also set the resync speed, since some systems will automatically restart the resyncing process. You can try:
    # echo 0 > /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_max

    That stops the current action so you may reboot the system, after which the resync should restart.

    Again, you should check your setup for the correct paths etc before trying this.

Similar Threads

  1. resync raid using rescue system
    By Hosting55 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-26-2012, 05:23 PM
  2. any cheap reliable r1soft or resync backup services
    By abhishek1711 in forum Managed Hosting and Services
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 01:25 PM
  3. Resync program?
    By Criminal#58369 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2005, 05:53 PM
  4. Resync Post counts?
    By eLiTeGuRu in forum WHT Announcements, Feedback and Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-02-2005, 06:58 PM
  5. resync
    By hostuknet in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-13-2004, 08:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts