VPS hosting directions

Hello,

I'm new in the VPS world and the experience is becoming horrible.

In the past i had a shared hosting re-seller account and started to have lots of mysql outages and very slow latency times in my websites.

So i decided it was time to move to a VPS, mainly because of one website with +150GB traffic.

I choose one of the best reviewed services and right after 5 days of happiness, the VPS went down 4 times in the following 5 days. Each time of 30 mins without connectivity

It's time to move again....

Do you think that with +200GB traffic / month, 6.000 visitors a day, a 512MB ram VPS is ok? Should i go for a dedicated server?

Which companies do you recommend? I'm concerned about speed, but downtimes for me is a no no

Are you using a control panel?
    Is the VPS managed?
    You might need more RAM.

Quote Originally Posted by TheJoker View Post
    Are you using a control panel?
    Is the VPS managed?
    You might need more RAM.
    Yes i'm using whm/cpanel and it is a managed VPS.

I've been checking the resources in the VPS and the server load is not that high.
    The VPS is running on a 32 CPUs server and the server load in "rush hour" is around 0.8 to 1.3.

I was told by the hosting company that it's another customer in the same node that is causing the outages, but 4 times in 5 days without a definitive solution is way too much for me.

Welcome to WHT Nitrate

Going from shared hosting to dedicated server is big loop in scaling. I would suggest to stay with vps unless you are expecting rapid traffic growth in the near future.

512 MB wouldn't do. If you have the budget, go with 2-4 GB VPS with reliable provider with proven track record. Best of luck in your search!
    -

Most cheap or discounted services fail sooner or later.