hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : Looking for a better vps hosting for ragnarok online server
Reply

Forum Jump

Looking for a better vps hosting for ragnarok online server

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2012, 09:01 AM
neoexdeath05 neoexdeath05 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Thumbs up

Looking for a better vps hosting for ragnarok online server


Well hello, i am a ragnarok developer, also having a small vps company, i just need a help, last few months ago, i was hosted at budgetvm.com, well their service is good, but it only has a i think it was 3 weeks then your server will become lag -.-'' i just need a stable vps hosting where i can host my all ragnarok servers,

5$ for 1gb of ram or 512mb will be okay trust me.
a vps that good for asia, philippines!
I just need your help guys! thank you


Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-26-2012, 09:05 AM
Taylor - Megahertz H Taylor - Megahertz H is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 173
If you want a better chance of a higher quality server you may want to increase your budget for more than $5 per 1GB. maby 8 - $10 and you will start getting better providers.

  #3  
Old 12-26-2012, 09:06 AM
Snoork Hosting Snoork Hosting is offline
Snoork Hosting
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2,475
You are looking for a stable 1 GB VPS for $5 a month? I'm sorry to tell you but you have to increase your budget if you are looking for a quality provider.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 12-26-2012, 09:07 AM
ControlVM ControlVM is offline
We Love XenŽ Hypervisor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,155
Why don't you just host on server located in Asia region if you target asia or philippine?
$5 for 1GB, I'll not expect too much on the quality, honestly.

  #5  
Old 12-26-2012, 09:16 AM
neoexdeath05 neoexdeath05 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
well you can visit their website, budgetvm.com and another cheap vps hosting, volumedrive.com

  #6  
Old 12-26-2012, 09:21 AM
neoexdeath05 neoexdeath05 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by chhost-VPS View Post
Why don't you just host on server located in Asia region if you target asia or philippine?
$5 for 1GB, I'll not expect too much on the quality, honestly.
anyway, i was satisfied at volumedrive.com, but there are many times of vps rebooting, i don't know why, i think it should be 5 - 10 minutes before you can log in your vps again.

  #7  
Old 12-26-2012, 09:39 AM
HHKNet HHKNet is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK and Hong Kong
Posts: 243
US$5 for 1GB RAM VPS... I'm sorry to say you're living in a dream world.

HK is about as cheap a place as can be for Asia based hosting (including VPS) but even here, you would be looking at US$$20 + for 1GB RAM. Our 1GB RAM VPS is US$45 /month... though most of that is actually for the bandwidth cost.. but you get the picture.

  #8  
Old 12-26-2012, 12:31 PM
BoxIntense BoxIntense is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 315
game servers = premium network + great hardware stability

on top of that if you need lag-free experience in Phillipine, you might need to see somewhere in APAC region, $5 is not gonna get you anywhere.

  #9  
Old 12-26-2012, 12:57 PM
Bo | TMZhosting Bo | TMZhosting is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 58
You really need to look at how many people connect, a good hard disc (possibly SSD, not just space requirements), and I'm guessing it runs on MySQL or MSSQL? so you would need a minimum of 2GB-4GB for a low population server.

Do you need Linux or Windows VPS?

  #10  
Old 12-27-2012, 08:23 PM
neoexdeath05 neoexdeath05 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo | TMZhosting View Post
You really need to look at how many people connect, a good hard disc (possibly SSD, not just space requirements), and I'm guessing it runs on MySQL or MSSQL? so you would need a minimum of 2GB-4GB for a low population server.

Do you need Linux or Windows VPS?
well for ragnarok server, you don't need to have a higher ram, 512mb can hold 100 players, i just need a 512mb ram for a cheap prize

  #11  
Old 12-28-2012, 02:48 AM
jenok jenok is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoexdeath05 View Post
well for ragnarok server, you don't need to have a higher ram, 512mb can hold 100 players, i just need a 512mb ram for a cheap prize
What is your player based country ?

  #12  
Old 12-29-2012, 01:53 AM
HHKNet HHKNet is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK and Hong Kong
Posts: 243
How much bandwidth do you need actually? 512MB for $5 is generally 'impossible', but you never know, sometimes people feel generous... Though I'm not sure how one would go about expressing their generosity on WHT given 'offers' are forbidden lol.

  #13  
Old 12-29-2012, 08:46 AM
neoexdeath05 neoexdeath05 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
well i will try burst.net, any suggestion for this hosting company?

  #14  
Old 12-29-2012, 09:12 AM
Entity44 Entity44 is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 68
Same as any budget provider. Not really suitable for gaming servers.

  #15  
Old 12-29-2012, 09:21 AM
sewi sewi is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 143
From what I remember, Ragnarok Online is very susceptible to latency, especially when you get hundred or more players.

That said - isn't having a Ragnarok Online server kind of on the .. legally questionable side of things? Sure, you can run eA, but to connect to it, you need to provide a patched official client, which Gravity forbids ..
Or did things change in the last 2 years?

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ragnarok Server installation/config - help wanted DaXav Employment / Job Offers 6 07-06-2012 11:55 AM
Ragnarok server issue jj@24khost Game Servers 8 12-27-2011 11:57 PM
Looking for a hoster who can host my Ragnarok Online server StarWarsRO-Markus Dedicated Server 1 05-28-2005 12:02 PM
Ragnarok Online and bandwidth usage ewhost Dedicated Server 2 08-17-2004 08:59 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Total Server Solutions Buys Its Second Web Host in Three Months: Hands-On Web Hosting Web Hosting News 2014-01-09 11:29:23
Most Online Gamers Experience Unplanned Server Outages During Play: LeaseWeb Study Web Hosting News 2013-05-01 15:16:03
nginx Version 1.4.0 Supports SPDY Protocol Web Hosting News 2013-04-29 15:08:14
RapidSwitch Provides Dedicated Hosting for Online Recycling Marketplace Web Hosting News 2013-04-23 14:14:12
Online Security Provider Golden Frog Adds Denmark VPN Server Cluster Web Hosting News 2013-04-12 17:02:08


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?