hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Internap - Few networks, which is best ?
Reply

Forum Jump

Internap - Few networks, which is best ?

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2003, 10:00 AM
m1l m1l is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5

Internap - Few networks, which is best ?


Hi,

If price is taken out of the equation, what in your opinion is the best of these two options, Internap bandwidth or a blend of multiple suppliers, like AT&T, UUNET, Sprint, Verio.

Things like speed, reliability, etc.

Any info would be much appreciated.

Mike

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-2003, 10:16 AM
BobFarmer BobFarmer is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 502
What's the difference?

InterNAP is a blend of different providers. Some people "attack" interNAP because they don't peer with networks, they simply buy transit from other networks. The thing is, InterNAP takes advantage of the peering arrangements of the people they buy their transit from. The only time it plays in is if an inexperienced BGP engineer hooks up an InterNAP line and another transit line. If they don't tweak the BGP metrics appropriately, InterNAP may get less traffic than it deserves.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2003, 10:18 AM
m1l m1l is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Shows what I know :-)

So is Internap better worse or the same ?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 03-12-2003, 10:49 AM
skylab skylab is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,074

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2003, 01:57 PM
hostpath.com hostpath.com is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,637
Personally I like InterNAP a lot. They have a strong SLA (just received a new and reportedly even BETTER SLA the other day) and superior control of the routing on their network. I wouldn't switch, and since you said cost shouldn't be a factor in the discussion, well...

__________________
I thank my Lord for all His wonderful blessings.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2003, 03:46 PM
case case is offline
Riiiiiiiiiiiiight...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hollywood Proper, CA
Posts: 3,044
cant go worng with internap. Any box connected to an internap line is going to get quality results. Although im not to big on SLA's they do provide a 100% uptime network guarentee, not to mention they have excellent engineers.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2003, 02:59 AM
rodeto rodeto is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Perhaps a silly question but since I am a newbie I am allowed one
If Internap uses other networks, how can I determine if my connection is Internap ?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2003, 04:45 AM
case case is offline
Riiiiiiiiiiiiight...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hollywood Proper, CA
Posts: 3,044
you can do a traceroute to and from the machine to determine if you're using internap. Take for instance, this is a small portion of a traceroute to my domain:

9 180 ms 173 ms 148 ms agr4-so-0-0-0.SantaClara.cw.net [208.172.156.14]
10 227 ms 241 ms 224 ms acr2-loopback.Philadelphia.cw.net [208.172.18.62]
11 227 ms 220 ms 224 ms aar8-loopback.Philadelphia.cw.net [208.172.18.24]
12 215 ms 219 ms 240 ms internap.Philadelphia.cw.net [208.172.30.222]
13 225 ms 230 ms 236 ms border1.ge3-1 bbnet1.ext1.phi.pnap.net [216.52.64.13]

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-13-2003, 09:02 AM
cbtrussell cbtrussell is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,166
Hey rodeto,

To follow up on what case offered, the domain you really want to look for is pnap.net as shown in the last line of case's trace.

pnap.net = internap

HTH,

Brandon

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-13-2003, 09:29 AM
sprintserve sprintserve is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9,009
No cost considerations? Internap

__________________
Like us on Facebook to qualify for discounts!
http://www.sprintserve.net
Offering: | Internap FCP Bandwidth! | Rebootless Kernel Updates! | Magento Optimized Hosting | Wordpress Hosting |
Services: | Managed Multiple Cores 64bit Servers | Server Management |

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Cloud Performance Challenges Outweigh Security Concerns for Cloud-Savvy Organizations: Study Web Hosting News 2014-01-14 11:37:44
Internap Opens Beta for Hybrid Cloud Platform Built on OpenStack Web Hosting News 2013-11-21 14:33:36
Internap Acquires Montreal Web Hosting Provider iWeb for $145M Web Hosting News 2013-10-31 14:22:32
Internap Updates Partner Program to Align with Hybrid Cloud Services Web Hosting News 2013-06-21 11:28:42
Internap Gives Colocation Customers Cloud-like Control with New Unified Portal Web Hosting News 2013-04-24 15:16:26


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?