hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Use Cobalt RAQ Servers ??
Reply

Forum Jump

Use Cobalt RAQ Servers ??

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2003, 08:44 PM
gordy gordy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 22

Use Cobalt RAQ Servers ??


Would you recommend using Colbalt RAQ Servers to start a webhosting company, yes or no, and please, why or why not...

I'd like to find out more information from people who actually use them if possible..



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-05-2003, 11:09 PM
cgisupp cgisupp is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: OZ
Posts: 120
As much as I like raq's (I have owned 9 of them), I find these days that they lack the number of features offered by other control panels, ensim, plesk, cpanel etc..

Many prospective clients find these extra features attractive so that your sales can benefit alot by offering them. In reality people will use about 10% of the features after the first week of using the control panel, but it is probably crucial in their initial buying decision. This is especially true in the US market where the market demands more and more features. Just my thoughts on the subject.

__________________
CGI Supply


  #3  
Old 03-06-2003, 02:00 AM
eddy2099 eddy2099 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,070
Small Clients maybe but you probably cannot pack as many of the same size web sites as compared as the standard whitebox server now. They were good several years ago but probably not so now with others providing better features for very much less money.

But a Raq 550 might not be all that bad. Have not used it yet but since it was only recent, it probably should match up with the current whitebox but you could probably be assured of superior components since it is built by SUN.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 03-06-2003, 05:48 AM
CCNST CCNST is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 115
The RaQ550 is ok. It has enough power for medium-sized websites and its price is not too high.
Your decision depends on your knowledge. A cobalt is more easy to use and to set up than other servers.

  #5  
Old 03-06-2003, 09:52 AM
THW-Dave THW-Dave is offline
The SpamAssassin
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,056
I say go for it.. the company I work for are using them for sites that are well over 300,000 hits a month (not alot.. but still alot)

although I do plan on getting cpanel or alike on a box before i purchase any more raq's..

the best thing is to have multiplatform.. give the users a option to pick.. some like the reliability of raq's cause they are made by sun, so might not know there were two SUN's in the universe..

but all and all, i have yet to have a problem, or complaint from any of my clients on our RaQ550..

btw, dont got with a raq4, they are no longer in production, nor are fast enough compared to the raq550s

if u really wanna get a nice grip on the server end.. get a raq, and get a 1U barebone, and install redhat7.2 with cpanel.. ten advertise that you have both! :-)

worst comes to worse.. u can sell the raq550 as a dedicated server.. a damn good one too.

  #6  
Old 03-06-2003, 07:26 PM
atjeu atjeu is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 558
they do not have the features that other appliances have these days - the raq550 is comparible to an ensim or plesk box, but they they dont even compete with cpanel.hsphere etc... that being said for what they are, they are great, very simple and easy to use - ensim is a cobalt ripoff, always was... the boxes are small, use small amounts of power, dont generate much heat - on the other hand they are not really upgradeable either and they are very expensive.

Ultimately there is no integrity built into a cobalt so if you lose the cobalt database you are hosed... there is no way to restore from config files to the database - backup is a bear and restore next to impossible because you have to manually add your users and sites in the exact same order - so you want to keep a record of who each site is, like site1 is abc.com and site2 xyz.com or you could never resotore the server without starting from scratch 100% - with all that being said they are still one of the easiest servers on the planet to administer - we still have a rack of them although we no longer use them ourselves.

  #7  
Old 03-07-2003, 12:08 AM
mgphoto mgphoto is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,114
I am going to disagree about the quality of the Cobalt. We currently own about 20 of the XTRs and R4s. We use them strictly for dedicated servers.

If you look at any Cobalt forum 90% of the posts are about this broke or this won't work, help me! Our downtime is about 11 to 1 on the Cobalt compared to our standard Linux boxes.

Before some might say "you don't know how to run a Cobalt" one of our admins worked a lot of years as the head tech suipport for one of the largest cobalt dealers in Europe. He's worked on Cobalts since they came out.

The fact that Sun doesn't support them any more, for all practical purposes, and has EOL most of the product line, should tell you something.

We are in the process of removing any cobalt from service once it becomes free. I would rather write off the money, including the cost of fully loaded XTRs rather than have such unreliable and quirky machines.

5 years ago they were good for what they were, but by today’s standards even the 550 is a dinosaur.

__________________
SiteSouth
Atlanta, GA and Las Vegas, NV. Colocation


  #8  
Old 03-07-2003, 04:52 AM
atjeu atjeu is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 558
well said... " we still have a rack of them although we no longer use them ourselves."

thats one of the reasons why we dont use them anymore although we still have a rack of them... they are good for a guy with a single busy site. but....

  #9  
Old 03-08-2003, 04:25 PM
EnigmaBiz EnigmaBiz is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 201
I owned one than went to WhiteBox.

I must say that it was a learning curve for the Cobalt.
Regardless of me (accidentally) bringing down the hole
entire data center or their main site. Security on their
part. DNS and IP issue. Stupid but true.

What I disliked about Cobalt is that it is easy to break.
It is hard to update certain things in regards to security.
Update things hesitation, let others do it and than try it.

I liked the Chilli!Soft package deal but a challenge to master
the mySQL->Chilli!Soft. Lots of people using Macromedia stuff
had problems connecting or getting it to work.

With a white box, I got a SuperMicro (SuperServer) with a
1 gig of Ram, plenty of HD space and Plesk control panel.
It's a 2.2 GHz, Dual Intel Eth. card and runs smoothly.
Much cheaper than a Cobalt RAQ 4x.

I updated the kernel about 3-4 times now and no issues.
It all depends as well. I am not sure how things are now
since Sun took over the Cobalt section of the business.

Are they releasing updates frequently, security issues,
making pkgs for other things? I've been out of touch
because I don't own one any longer.

Another issue I had was, I live in Cali, I colo in Virginia.

Now the colo is about 1 hour away and when need be
I can drive and do certain things, replace parts, add
or do something that it can't be done from remote location.

Let's say you need to install a 3Ware card, drump 2x 80 gigs
drive instead...

Although I had good support from here, very much so.
I had a guy on the phone for hours walking me through.

Like I said, I had the server for 3 mo. I paid and no clients
than I said... 'Might as well learn and crash'.

__________________
Enigma Networks & Design
http://www.enigmabiz.com
[graphics][printing][web]

  #10  
Old 03-10-2003, 03:34 AM
BruceT BruceT is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 695
All Cobalt products except RaQ 550 have been EOL'd by Sun. In theory, Sun will continue to provide patches and support for them for 3 or 5 years (depends on what you read and who you talk to) from EOL date.

Personally I wouldn't hold my breath.

Since you (and others) aren't sure if they're right for you and/or seem to dislike them so much, don't bother with a Cobalt box. Get a generic 1U box and put Red Hat + CPanel or whatever on it, and be happy.


__________________
http://www.lamphowto.com/ - LAMP and LAMP+SSL HowTo
http://www.cobaltfaqs.com/ - Cobalt FAQs and HowTos

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Penetration Testing Software Cobalt Strike Adds Support for Cloud-based Redirectors Web Hosting News 2014-01-14 14:15:42
Cobalt Data Centers Names Jefferson S. Brown President Web Hosting News 2013-07-10 13:53:29
Cobalt Data Centers Names VP of Operations and Security Web Hosting News 2013-03-14 12:53:28
Cobalt Opens 34,000 Square Foot Data Center in Las Vegas Web Hosting News 2013-02-08 15:07:39
Colocation Provider Cobalt Takes Over Tier 3 Data Center in Las Vegas Web Hosting News 2012-08-30 12:34:36


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?