hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Software and Control Panels : the company i work for ...
Reply

Forum Jump

the company i work for ...

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Software and Control Panels Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2003, 03:28 PM
Fujiwara Takumi Fujiwara Takumi is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: opposite lock
Posts: 934

the company i work for ...


blocks all ports but port 80 and a few other "necessities" its more or less a bank, so security is important. Is there anyway around the fact that cpanel runs on port 2082?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-04-2003, 03:28 PM
atjeu atjeu is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 558
ahhh, that stinks - yes you have to have them open that port

  #3  
Old 03-04-2003, 03:38 PM
Fujiwara Takumi Fujiwara Takumi is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: opposite lock
Posts: 934
lol, suck. it makes managing my company pretty difficult. I need an intern

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 03-04-2003, 04:28 PM
EO|webhost EO|webhost is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 65
Saying you have a free ip on your server get some sort of port redirector.
http://freshmeat.net/projects/cbounc...150%2C90%2C861
There is a program called bouncer that I use in situations like this. You run it listening on port 80 on the spare ip then redirect to port 2082. It can be run via the console and is pretty stable.

Hope this helps a little

  #5  
Old 03-04-2003, 04:35 PM
aah-jim aah-jim is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 380
You could try something like httptunnel or socks2http and configure them with your browser so everything goes through port 80.

__________________
web:http://www.allabouthosting.co.uk
email: sales@allabouthosting.co.uk

  #6  
Old 03-04-2003, 04:40 PM
Fujiwara Takumi Fujiwara Takumi is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: opposite lock
Posts: 934
Quote:
Originally posted by EO|webhost
Saying you have a free ip on your server get some sort of port redirector.
http://freshmeat.net/projects/cbounc...150%2C90%2C861
There is a program called bouncer that I use in situations like this. You run it listening on port 80 on the spare ip then redirect to port 2082. It can be run via the console and is pretty stable.

Hope this helps a little
i was thinking abou tthat, i dont have spare IPs now, but i think ill have to get some soon. (50/month for more, plus that means serious hardware upgrades )

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Rackspace Among Cloud Companies on Fortune's "Best Companies to Work For" List Web Hosting News 2014-01-17 11:44:01
Three Tips to Reduce Meetings, Work Hours, and Be as Productive as Ever Blog 2013-11-01 15:18:39
Pace Work Technologies Launches Upgraded Web Hosting Services Web Hosting News 2013-07-03 15:41:09
Web Host PEER 1 Named Top Workplace in UK Web Hosting News 2012-05-31 16:10:42
UK Web Host Rackspace Ranked Great Place to Work for Eighth Consecutive Year Web Hosting News 2012-05-28 15:51:42


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?