hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : What is going on?

Forum Jump

What is going on?

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2003, 03:42 PM

Angry

What is going on?

I'm a rookie webmaster, and I need some help! I have changed my dns numbers days ago (5). My site has migrated on everyone else's computer but mine? When I ping my ip address I get the old ip address. When anyone else pings my ip address they get the new one. I've turned of the dns clients in the services of my control panel. I've deleted all of my cookies and temp files in my internet options. Still nothing. My isp checked the site from their computers and they get the new one? Can anyone help me?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-2003, 03:45 PM
Junior Guru Wannabe

Dont sweat it.. its probably that your particular network just hasnt updated its DNS yet, give it 2 or 3 more days...

Old 02-28-2003, 04:04 PM
Designer

I agree.

It usually takes 48-72 hours for DNS propagation to go through.

If you also take into account your individual ISP's network, cache, etc.... it can take longer.

lol you may also want to make sure you didn't choose a Cogent provider, while you have an AOL, RoadRunnner, or TImeWarner connection.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-2003, 04:13 PM
Web Hosting Master

We had a client not being able to access his site for 13 days, apparently his isp only updates their dns every 2 weeks

Old 02-28-2003, 04:15 PM
Web Hosting Master

Quote:
Originally posted by Myacen
We had a client not being able to access his site for 13 days, apparently his isp only updates their dns every 2 weeks
Thats just sad, and wrong, DNS should be updated atleast every 3 days, anything longer than that is to long in my opinion.

AIM: LipWebNet MSN: daniel[at]lipweb.net [color=red]

Old 02-28-2003, 04:16 PM
Designer