Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 32
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    62

    Average Price Range -- Colo Rack Space

    Lets assume you need 1/2 Cabinet of Rack space along with 1/Gig
    of Internet Access from a Tier 1 ISP which will route IP space
    you've obtained from ARIN directly. What would you estimate is
    the general price range to meet these requirements?

    I guess what I'm looking for is the cost of Cabinet space and
    internet access pricing. NOTE: That when I say Internet Access,
    I mean directly to an ISP that will allow BGP routing and not
    the 5 or 10 IP addresses some reseller might lease to you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    84
    1/2 cabinet space won't cost you much at all. The Internet access will depend on the carrier you choose. Get a lot of quotes because prices can different drastically - like some being 2x or more than others. Also though consider both the uptime and quality of the provider's connection.

    Note that power, which you haven't mentioned, could very likely be the largest portion of your total costs. Redundant A/B power circuit pricing have *really* climbed in recent years.
    ███ OrcsWeb: Managed Windows Hosting -> Remarkable Service; Remarkable Support.
    ███ CloudServers.com: Windows & Linux Cloud VPS Hosting

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by sbradk View Post
    1/2 cabinet space won't cost you much at all. The Internet access will depend on the carrier you choose. Get a lot of quotes because prices can different drastically - like some being 2x or more than others. Also though consider both the uptime and quality of the provider's connection.

    Note that power, which you haven't mentioned, could very likely be the largest portion of your total costs. Redundant A/B power circuit pricing have *really* climbed in recent years.


    Why not put a UPS in the rack and save on buying redundant power?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    84
    UPS' have very limited run times so that increases your exposure to issues with more than a few minutes of power outage. Also, you may need to invest quite a lot in UPS' depending on your draw - quite likely multiple UPS' per rack.
    ███ OrcsWeb: Managed Windows Hosting -> Remarkable Service; Remarkable Support.
    ███ CloudServers.com: Windows & Linux Cloud VPS Hosting

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    11,498
    Where is it located? That could vary the average prices of the racks as well and the features within the data center.

    If there is 24x7 support/monitoring/security etc, generators... A lot of varying factors.
    Doug, Sales Leader
    VPS | KVM SSD & SATA VPS | Dedicated Servers | Colocation
    99.999% Uptime | 24x7x365 Support | Global Data Centers
    www.bigbrainglobal.com | Big Brain Global Networks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by sbradk View Post
    UPS' have very limited run times so that increases your exposure to issues with more than a few minutes of power outage. Also, you may need to invest quite a lot in UPS' depending on your draw - quite likely multiple UPS' per rack.


    It makes you wonder if buying colo space is worth it. Seems like
    a better alternative might be to buy a plot of land, put a trailer
    on it with a gas powered generator, and call it a day.

    I suppose the only issue with that plan is the ability to obtain
    high speed internet access. I suppose a plot near a telco CO might
    be the best option.

    Cheap Land. Cheap Power. Become your own Data Center.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    214
    Why on earth would you be providing your own UPS's when a "proper" datacentre will do this all for you, in an N+1 or greater configuration?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by PeteK View Post
    Why on earth would you be providing your own UPS's when a "proper" datacentre will do this all for you, in an N+1 or greater configuration?
    Just seeing if being cheap is cheaper.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    11,498
    Quote Originally Posted by Albyva View Post
    Just seeing if being cheap is cheaper.
    What does this even mean?
    Doug, Sales Leader
    VPS | KVM SSD & SATA VPS | Dedicated Servers | Colocation
    99.999% Uptime | 24x7x365 Support | Global Data Centers
    www.bigbrainglobal.com | Big Brain Global Networks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,224
    Quote Originally Posted by Albyva View Post
    Lets assume you need 1/2 Cabinet of Rack space along with 1/Gig
    of Internet Access from a Tier 1 ISP which will route IP space
    you've obtained from ARIN directly
    A 1Gb/s CDR will vary in price depending on the provider - if sticking only to Tier-1's expect anything from 75c/Mbs to 10$/Mbs
    Rob Golding Astutium Ltd - UK based ICANN Accredited Domain Registrar - proud to accept BitCoins
    Buying Web Hosts and Domain Registrars Today @ hostacquisitions.co.uk
    UK Web Hosting | UK VPS | UK Dedicated Servers | ADSL/FTTC | Backup/DR | Cloud
    UK Colocation | Reseller Accounts | IPv6 Transit | Secondary MX | DNS | WHMCS Modules

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by Techy View Post
    What does this even mean?


    ....just pondering if racking up a UPS would be cheaper than
    buying redundant power in the data center. But then the issue
    boils down to time. Will the center's power come back before
    the UPS dies?

    In the end, its risk equation. Aren't most data centers located
    right off the main transmission lines from the power company?
    What are the odds of an outage? Better yet, who can testify to
    being colo'd at a data center in which the power has gone out
    for hours on end and how often has that happened?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,224
    Quote Originally Posted by Albyva View Post
    ....just pondering if racking up a UPS would be cheaper than
    buying redundant power in the data center. But then the issue
    boils down to time. Will the center's power come back before
    the UPS dies?
    If the DC has a UPS they may not allow you to install one...
    Rob Golding Astutium Ltd - UK based ICANN Accredited Domain Registrar - proud to accept BitCoins
    Buying Web Hosts and Domain Registrars Today @ hostacquisitions.co.uk
    UK Web Hosting | UK VPS | UK Dedicated Servers | ADSL/FTTC | Backup/DR | Cloud
    UK Colocation | Reseller Accounts | IPv6 Transit | Secondary MX | DNS | WHMCS Modules

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by Albyva View Post
    Why not put a UPS in the rack and save on buying redundant power?
    Redundant power is more than just battery power. A true redundant power will save you in case the power supply goes out, the in-cabinet PDU fails, the RPP/PDU fails, the UPS fails, the ATS fails, etc. With an in-cabinet UPS, you still face the above risks. Redundant power removes a lot of single points of failures. If your service is mission critical, it is worth paying for.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,326
    Quote Originally Posted by othellotech View Post
    A 1Gb/s CDR will vary in price depending on the provider - if sticking only to Tier-1's expect anything from 75c/Mbs to 10$/Mbs
    I would not know a Tier-1 that charges only $0,75 / mbps on a 1 Gbps CDR. Maybe you can list some ?
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Primary locations: Netherlands, Chicago, Bay Area, Miami and New York.
    Support response time within 15 minutes 24x7 low priced dedicated servers available on Swiftway Serverdeals

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by ColoUnlimited View Post
    Redundant power is more than just battery power. A true redundant power will save you in case the power supply goes out, the in-cabinet PDU fails, the RPP/PDU fails, the UPS fails, the ATS fails, etc. With an in-cabinet UPS, you still face the above risks. Redundant power removes a lot of single points of failures. If your service is mission critical, it is worth paying for.
    if the datacenter lost power, would the net connection go down anyway when their router fails?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by Hosttoast View Post
    if the datacenter lost power, would the net connection go down anyway when their router fails?
    In an ideal world, there should be multiple routers and those routers should be fed with redundant power. Even though there is utility power loss, the data center and network should be up as long as there wasn't another issue.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by swiftnoc View Post
    I would not know a Tier-1 that charges only $0,75 / mbps on a 1 Gbps CDR. Maybe you can list some ?
    He.net recently quoted me 60c/mb for 1G flat rate and im' sure I could negotiate 75c/mb for 1G flat rate with cogent
    Last edited by connected2; 07-09-2012 at 06:38 PM.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,650
    yes, but who wants a capped 1g port? its useless, and you end up paying more than that per meg because you can only realistically use approx 750-800mbps before getting quality of service issues.

    so that $.75/mbps for 1g flat is actually $.94 - $1/Meg, and you then also have to deal with trying to balance traffic across multiple tiny 1Gbps links.

    NO Thanks!


    Pricing for 1Gbps CDR on a 10Gbps port for both of those providers is all higher than what you are quoting above.
    EasyDCIM.com - DataCenter Infrastructure Management - HELLO DEDICATED SERVER & COLO PROVIDERS! - Reach Me: chris@easydcim.com
    Bandwidth Billing | Inventory & Asset Management | Server Control
    Order Forms | Reboots | IPMI Control | IP Management | Reverse&Forward DNS | Rack Management

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    yes, but who wants a capped 1g port? its useless, and you end up paying more than that per meg because you can only realistically use approx 750-800mbps before getting quality of service issues.

    so that $.75/mbps for 1g flat is actually $.94 - $1/Meg,
    Agreed
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    and you then also have to deal with trying to balance traffic across multiple tiny 1Gbps links.

    NO Thanks!


    Pricing for 1Gbps CDR on a 10Gbps port for both of those providers is all higher than what you are quoting above.
    OP only wants 1*GE plus thats what BGP or LAG is for. Yea well OFC

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,477
    A Tier1 ISP is not going to route your own IP block for you. You need your own BGP router.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by FastServ View Post
    A Tier1 ISP is not going to route your own IP block for you. You need your own BGP router.


    Yes and No. A Tier 1 ISP should have no issue routing your
    IP network via BGP (assuming you also have your own ASN). You
    do need a router to be the gateway between your network and
    the ISP, so that all becomes a question on if that network
    design is available to most colo clients.

    What I've seen is that some Colo businesses allow a direct link
    between an ISP and your equipment. I've seen others that attempt
    to be the middle man between a Tier 1 ISP and you, thus dictating
    what you can and cannot do with regards to routing. Some don't allow
    BGP because they want to force you into using their limited ISPs or
    to pay more for extra space. Whereas if you can establish a BGP link,
    you can announce much more IP space, assuming you've obtain direct
    allocations from ARIN (or RIPE/APNIC/LATNIC for those overseas)

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,326
    Quote Originally Posted by connected2 View Post
    He.net recently quoted me 60c/mb for 1G flat rate and im' sure I could negotiate 75c/mb for 1G flat rate with cogent
    Both are not Tier-1 but Tier-2
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Primary locations: Netherlands, Chicago, Bay Area, Miami and New York.
    Support response time within 15 minutes 24x7 low priced dedicated servers available on Swiftway Serverdeals

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by swiftnoc View Post
    Both are not Tier-1 but Tier-2


    Agreed.. Tier 1 providers are typically telcos who own the fiber
    in the ground that runs coast to coast. Whereas Tier 2 ISPs
    still have to lease dedicated lines from Verizon, ATT, Level 3, etc...


    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tier_1_...ier_1_networks
    Last edited by Albyva; 07-10-2012 at 08:19 AM.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    2,557
    Quote Originally Posted by Albyva View Post
    Agreed.. Tier 1 providers are typically telcos who own the fiber
    in the ground that runs coast to coast. Whereas Tier 2 ISPs
    still have to lease dedicated lines from Verizon, ATT, Level 3, etc...
    Read the link you posted yourself:
    Although there is no authority that defines tiers of networks participating in the Internet, the most common definition of a tier 1 network is one that can reach every other network on the Internet without purchasing IP transit or paying settlements.[1]

    By this definition, a tier 1 network is a transit-free network that peers with every other tier-1 network. But not all transit-free networks are tier 1 networks. It is possible to become transit-free by paying for peering or agreeing to settlements.
    Tier 1 networks lease a lot of fiber as well. That has no bearing on whether a network is defined as Tier 1 or not.
    ASTUTE HOSTING: Advanced, customized, and scalable solutions with AS54527 Premium Canadian Optimized Network
    MicroServers.io: Enterprise Dedicated Hardware with IPMI at VPS-like Prices with AS63213 Affordable Bandwidth in Canada and beyond
    Dedicated Hosting, Colo, Bandwidth, and Fiber out of Vancouver, Seattle, LA, Toronto, NYC, Miami, and London

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by hhw View Post
    Read the link you posted yourself:


    Tier 1 networks lease a lot of fiber as well. That has no bearing on whether a network is defined as Tier 1 or not.


    What would be the defining factor? The one with the most
    customers who is able to dictate peering agreements?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Average price of bandwidth and disk space per GB?
    By calidude in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-18-2008, 06:24 PM
  2. Colo and Rack Space suggestions for Orlando, Florida
    By teksolvers in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-21-2004, 01:06 PM
  3. $50 Colo Special - 2 Tower Servers or 8U Rack Space
    By phisolutions in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-14-2003, 10:52 AM
  4. Free Cogent Colo from 1u space - Full Rack No charge
    By cbaker17 in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-30-2003, 09:41 PM
  5. Colo space: 1 Mbps + 1 Rack for $599 / month
    By Reliable2 in forum Shared Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2001, 09:47 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •