hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : Remote Desktop Connection Error
Reply

Forum Jump

Remote Desktop Connection Error

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:26 PM
anthonyinit anthonyinit is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Who knows
Posts: 255

Remote Desktop Connection Error


Hello,
is this dumb thing to do or maybe i have no idea what i'm doing. i'm trying to connect to my VPS Server from my Remote Desktop but i get this error
I'm not sure if i can do this.. im using VPS Server With Debian OS / Virtualmin / Webmin installed. kindly help me



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:30 PM
Ghan_04 Ghan_04 is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 261
Debian is a Linux OS, which means that it does not support Microsoft RDP. You'll probably want to find the webpage where Webmin is so you can administrate the server. It's possible to use a shell console to issue commands to the server, but unless you know what you're doing you probably don't want to touch that.

  #3  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:33 PM
SajanP SajanP is offline
WHT Content Curator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 4,872
I believe that Debian has a package called 'xrdp' which is an RDP server that might work for you. Give it a try and let us know.

__________________
Sajan Parikh - PHP Development | Server Management | Linux Administration | Web Consulting
Feel free to get in touch with me if I can be of assistance with anything.
A member of Geeked.io
e: sajan [at] parikh.io | w: sajan.io

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:48 PM
anthonyinit anthonyinit is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Who knows
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghan_04 View Post
Debian is a Linux OS, which means that it does not support Microsoft RDP. You'll probably want to find the webpage where Webmin is so you can administrate the server. It's possible to use a shell console to issue commands to the server, but unless you know what you're doing you probably don't want to touch that.
for newbie like me SHELL noway sir... i will screw my system...

  #5  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:51 PM
anthonyinit anthonyinit is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Who knows
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by sajanNOPPIX View Post
I believe that Debian has a package called 'xrdp' which is an RDP server that might work for you. Give it a try and let us know.
But how i will install this and use is there any help or guide..

  #6  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:14 PM
Coolraul Coolraul is online now
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,870
Do you need a Linux VPS or windows. If you are more comfortable with windows why not use that?

__________________
Can't we all just get along

  #7  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:24 PM
public_html public_html is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,197
Well the thing you trying to do needs purely windows server enabled with remote desktop connection.

You may be be able to achieve this on linux vps.

__________________
▓▓ 9xhost.Net - Limited
▓▓ Quad Core Dedicated Servers with WHMCS - Click here
▓▓ Windows VPS Plans - Click here
===============================================

  #8  
Old 06-05-2012, 01:10 PM
anthonyinit anthonyinit is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Who knows
Posts: 255
I already have Linux installed so how I switch to windows it will cost me more money.

  #9  
Old 06-05-2012, 01:44 PM
KMyers KMyers is offline
Technical Nutcase
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 18,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonyinit View Post
I already have Linux installed so how I switch to windows it will cost me more money.
Hello,
Switching to a Windows VPS would cost you more money and you may also need to change servers. Windows requires Xen or KVM and will not work with OpenVZ based nodes.

__________________
Keith M.- CTO
VPS | Cloud Resource Pools | Dedicated Servers | Colocation
99.999% Uptime | 24x7x365 Support | onApp Powered Cloud | Global Data Centers
Big Brain Global Networks | A Division of Big Brain, LLC

  #10  
Old 06-05-2012, 09:12 PM
anthonyinit anthonyinit is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Who knows
Posts: 255
i really don't need to spend more money... hmmm, if anyone knows hows to install 'xrdp' or any other way i can see my server desktop from my computer kindly let me know.

tks to all

  #11  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:47 PM
613websites 613websites is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 348
You bought a linux VPS but don't know how to use linux?

You are doing it wrong.

__________________
613websites.com ● 1-800-636-1484
Budget Canadian Hosting and Web Design
Visit us @ www.613websites.com!

  #12  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:15 PM
Kevin Hillstrand Kevin Hillstrand is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 3,759
Install XRDP + Gnome

  #13  
Old 06-07-2012, 01:38 AM
anthonyinit anthonyinit is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Who knows
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4m1r View Post
You bought a linux VPS but don't know how to use linux?

You are doing it wrong.
What you mean by that?

  #14  
Old 06-07-2012, 03:58 AM
MacAndy MacAndy is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4m1r View Post
You bought a linux VPS but don't know how to use linux?

You are doing it wrong.
I think he used a fully-managed VPS.

  #15  
Old 06-07-2012, 09:03 AM
anthonyinit anthonyinit is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Who knows
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTN-Kevin View Post
Install XRDP + Gnome
Any idea on installing it? Guide or tutorial

Tks

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got remote desktop, but I have no internet connection JaimeC Hosting Security and Technology 7 02-18-2012 03:48 AM
Remote Desktop Connection Sonnic VPS Hosting 10 10-27-2009 06:10 PM
Remote Desktop or Connection ? redcell1 Computers and Peripherals 13 11-12-2007 06:02 PM
Help me test our remote desktop connection please ThatScriptGuy Web Hosting Lounge 3 12-01-2006 06:28 PM
Remote Desktop Web Connection DataDork Web Hosting Lounge 4 09-09-2005 02:54 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
VMware Launches DaaS Based on vCloud Hybrid Service Web Hosting News 2014-03-10 12:34:24
RemoteDesktop.com Listing 2014-04-24 09:32:09
VMware Acquires Desktop as a Service Provider Desktone Web Hosting News 2013-10-15 12:03:02
CyberlinkASP Deploys SSD to Improve Virtual Desktop Infrastructure Performance Web Hosting News 2013-04-17 11:03:22
Desktop Hosting: High-Margin Opportunity for a New Cloud Service – WPC 2012 Web Hosting News 2012-07-11 14:57:43


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?