Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Who knows
    Posts
    269

    Remote Desktop Connection Error

    Hello,
    is this dumb thing to do or maybe i have no idea what i'm doing. i'm trying to connect to my VPS Server from my Remote Desktop but i get this error
    I'm not sure if i can do this.. im using VPS Server With Debian OS / Virtualmin / Webmin installed. kindly help me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    266
    Debian is a Linux OS, which means that it does not support Microsoft RDP. You'll probably want to find the webpage where Webmin is so you can administrate the server. It's possible to use a shell console to issue commands to the server, but unless you know what you're doing you probably don't want to touch that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,888
    I believe that Debian has a package called 'xrdp' which is an RDP server that might work for you. Give it a try and let us know.
    Sajan Parikh - PHP Development | Server Management | Linux Administration | Web Consulting
    Feel free to get in touch with me if I can be of assistance with anything.
    A member of Geeked.io
    e: sajan [at] parikh.io | w: sajan.io

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Who knows
    Posts
    269
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghan_04 View Post
    Debian is a Linux OS, which means that it does not support Microsoft RDP. You'll probably want to find the webpage where Webmin is so you can administrate the server. It's possible to use a shell console to issue commands to the server, but unless you know what you're doing you probably don't want to touch that.
    for newbie like me SHELL noway sir... i will screw my system...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Who knows
    Posts
    269
    Quote Originally Posted by sajanNOPPIX View Post
    I believe that Debian has a package called 'xrdp' which is an RDP server that might work for you. Give it a try and let us know.
    But how i will install this and use is there any help or guide..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,017
    Do you need a Linux VPS or windows. If you are more comfortable with windows why not use that?
    Can't we all just get along

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,214
    Well the thing you trying to do needs purely windows server enabled with remote desktop connection.

    You may be be able to achieve this on linux vps.
    ▓▓ 9xhost.Net - Limited
    ▓▓ Quad Core Dedicated Servers with WHMCS - Click here
    ▓▓ Windows VPS Plans - Click here
    ===============================================

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Who knows
    Posts
    269
    I already have Linux installed so how I switch to windows it will cost me more money.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    18,837
    Quote Originally Posted by anthonyinit View Post
    I already have Linux installed so how I switch to windows it will cost me more money.
    Hello,
    Switching to a Windows VPS would cost you more money and you may also need to change servers. Windows requires Xen or KVM and will not work with OpenVZ based nodes.
    Keith I Myers
    CEO and Founder - RemoteRAM.com
    The world leader in Cloud Based RAM
    KMyers.me The rantings of a lunatic

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Who knows
    Posts
    269
    i really don't need to spend more money... hmmm, if anyone knows hows to install 'xrdp' or any other way i can see my server desktop from my computer kindly let me know.

    tks to all

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    362
    You bought a linux VPS but don't know how to use linux?

    You are doing it wrong.
    613websites.comCanadian Hosting and Web Design
    Reliable, fast, customized, and secure hosting!
    99.9% Uptime Guarantee | 24/7 Support | Money Back Guarantee
    Visit www.613websites.com or call 1-800-636-1484

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,759
    Install XRDP + Gnome

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Who knows
    Posts
    269
    Quote Originally Posted by d4m1r View Post
    You bought a linux VPS but don't know how to use linux?

    You are doing it wrong.
    What you mean by that?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by d4m1r View Post
    You bought a linux VPS but don't know how to use linux?

    You are doing it wrong.
    I think he used a fully-managed VPS.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Who knows
    Posts
    269
    Quote Originally Posted by FTN-Kevin View Post
    Install XRDP + Gnome
    Any idea on installing it? Guide or tutorial

    Tks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Got remote desktop, but I have no internet connection
    By JaimeC in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-18-2012, 03:48 AM
  2. Remote Desktop Connection
    By Sonnic in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-27-2009, 06:10 PM
  3. Remote Desktop or Connection ?
    By redcell1 in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 06:02 PM
  4. Help me test our remote desktop connection please
    By ThatScriptGuy in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2006, 06:28 PM
  5. Remote Desktop Web Connection
    By DataDork in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-09-2005, 02:54 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •