Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Abovenet routing

    Has anyone noticed strange routes on ABVT lately? I live in NJ and most of my routes go through NYC... except for ABVT. Their routes go through WDC, for some reason. Is ABVT always this crappy? I get much better routing through XO, and that's saying something.
    My personal blog -- rubiverse.net

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,420
    Quote Originally Posted by flam316 View Post
    Has anyone noticed strange routes on ABVT lately? I live in NJ and most of my routes go through NYC... except for ABVT. Their routes go through WDC, for some reason. Is ABVT always this crappy? I get much better routing through XO, and that's saying something.
    You didn't state the destination of the traffic, so how can we assume it's "crappy"? Did you consider various maintenance schedules?
    Incero's Enterprise Servers - Dallas, NYC, & Seattle Colocation SSAE 16
    e: sales(at)incero(dot)com • 855.217.COLO (2656)
    Enterprise Servers, SATA/SAS/SSD, secure IPMI/KVM remote control, 100% U.S.A. Based Staff
    SSAE 16, SAS70, Redundant Power & Network, Fully Diverse Fiber

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by gordonrp View Post
    You didn't state the destination of the traffic, so how can we assume it's "crappy"? Did you consider various maintenance schedules?
    This has been going on for months. It doesn't matter what the destination is, everything is routed from WDC and not NYC. Considering I'm less than 30 miles outside of NYC, this doesn't make sense.

    EDIT: Even if the server is in NYC, ABVT routes me to WDC and back to NYC.
    My personal blog -- rubiverse.net

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,420
    Traffic from your home in nj to NYC going via wdc would be your ISP making the route decision.... No? What do you see if you trace from the NY server to your home in nj? No wdc Im guessing?

    Most likely your ISP is peering with abovenet in wdc or something like that. Hard to guess without seeing complete routes back and forth.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,662
    Your outbound has nothing to do with Abovenet and everything to do with YOUR home ISP.
    EasyDCIM.com - DataCenter Infrastructure Management - HELLO DEDICATED SERVER & COLO PROVIDERS! - Reach Me: chris@easydcim.com
    Bandwidth Billing | Inventory & Asset Management | Server Control
    Order Forms | Reboots | IPMI Control | IP Management | Reverse&Forward DNS | Rack Management

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    555
    Ive actually been seeing non-optimal routes via above.net in LA as well. Most of the time it routes through northern california/sanjose area outbound and inbound so 20ms latency to a local server instead of <3ms like it should be.

  7. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Abovenet Providers in VA
    By e-infinity in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 03:28 PM
  2. AboveNet?
    By MaB in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2004, 06:03 PM
  3. AboveNet
    By XtremeBandwidth in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 06-25-2004, 05:44 AM
  4. Abovenet Seattle
    By StoneHalo in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-2004, 01:04 PM
  5. Abovenet - Anyone using them?
    By Ericwenlong in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-13-2002, 09:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •