Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unhappy *sigh*...help. VPS or dedicated?

I am an Administrator (more like a SuperMod really) on a fan forum site. The owner of the site has a dedicated host server runs about about 20 other sites. However, the one that I work on is the most active. From what I can tell from conversations with her (the owner), the site I work on is using too much resources, and now needs a separate host. I have offered to purchase host service for this one forum. She insists that only a dedicated server will do, but I think a managed VPS would be more than sufficient.

These are the specs for her current server:

intel Core i7 920
    12 gb of ram
    1000GB SATA - harddrive #1
    1000GB SATA - harddrive #2

She wants my help, but keeps a lot of information "close to the vest". Also, English is not her primary language so that makes for a few problems as well. So, as far as resources that the forum currently uses, I have no idea. We don't have high traffic. Although we have over 1600 members, there are no more than 60-70 active at one time. We're not gamers, we don't stream anything. I don't really have a clue what is killing the resources. Maybe she doesn't really know either.

What I think I need, that will be sufficient, is a managed VPS server, with cPanel, 1 to 2 gb of RAM, 2 X 250GB SATA disks (RAID 1? I dunno), 1 TB of bandwidth, free setup, 24/7/365 support. I only need 1 IP really. My budget is $100 or less, and I need something in the US.

I am totally new to this, so forgive the lack of information. I will try to answer whatever questions anyone has.

The owner and I have been arguing over this all week, meanwhile the forum is slowly decaying. Soon, and I mean like any minute now, the forum will be completely dead. So...help?

P.S. - A firewall and some system of security would be good too.