Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331

    how to set google a MX under cpanel dns cluster ?

    Hi,

    i set a cpanel dns cluster and use "Add a DNS Zone" to add a domain on the cluster,
    because i want to host mail part on google a,
    and website on my server(it's ip may be 1.1.1.1),
    so,i modify the dns zone as following:


    ; cPanel first:11.30.1.4 (update_time):1331735620 Cpanel::ZoneFile::VERSION:1.3 hostname:ns1.xxx.com latest:11.30.6.4
    ; Zone file for 123.com
    $TTL 14400
    123.com. 1 IN SOA ns1.xxx.com. admin.xxx.com. (
    2011080423 ;Serial Number
    1 ;refresh
    1 ;retry
    1 ;expire
    1 ;minimum
    )
    123.com. 1 IN NS ns1.xxx.com.
    123.com. 1 IN NS ns2.xxx.com.
    123.com. 1 IN NS ns3.xxx.com.
    www 1 IN CNAME 123.com.
    ftp 1 IN CNAME 123.com.
    mail 1 IN CNAME 123.com.
    123.com. 1 IN TXT google-site-verification=m0EI4CgCwzNKbqgMh6tEaFwbHXTn2sFhE3vLlPTj6HU
    123.com. 1 IN MX 10 aspmx.l.google.com.
    123.com. 1 IN MX 20 alt1.aspmx.l.google.com.
    123.com. 1 IN MX 20 alt2.aspmx.l.google.com.
    123.com. 1 IN MX 30 aspmx2.googlemail.com.
    123.com. 1 IN MX 30 aspmx3.googlemail.com.
    123.com. 1 IN A 1.1.1.1



    * i set the ttl as 1,it is because i want to let it work quickly when i still test it now.
    * i try to test the mail route on other cpanel server's "Email Address Trace",some times,it still show with 1.1.1.1,not all google's record.

    is possible that i can let all the mail 100% go to google without my website server 1.1.1.1 ?


    thanx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    6,478
    Have you set the name servers at your registrar? cPanels email trace will still rely on the DNS in resolv.conf
    █ | Brad Hooper - Hoopla Hosting - Email or add me to Gtalk! brad [at] hooplahosting.com
    █ | Web Hosting NZ - Reseller Hosting - cPanel - Zurmo Hosting - Softaculous - CloudFlare
    █ | VPS - SolusVM - E3-1230 - RAID10 - 1Gbit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331
    Hi,

    my domain's nameserver is set on my dns cluster
    ns1.xxx.com
    ns2.xxx.com
    ns3.xxx.com

    i does not host the domain with my registrar and point A record to my dns cluster,so,my registrar already has no area to let me to set the records again.


    thanx

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    6,478
    Maybe you can share the correct domain and name server domain?
    █ | Brad Hooper - Hoopla Hosting - Email or add me to Gtalk! brad [at] hooplahosting.com
    █ | Web Hosting NZ - Reseller Hosting - cPanel - Zurmo Hosting - Softaculous - CloudFlare
    █ | VPS - SolusVM - E3-1230 - RAID10 - 1Gbit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331
    for some reason,can i pm with you ? thanx

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    6,478
    Go for it.
    █ | Brad Hooper - Hoopla Hosting - Email or add me to Gtalk! brad [at] hooplahosting.com
    █ | Web Hosting NZ - Reseller Hosting - cPanel - Zurmo Hosting - Softaculous - CloudFlare
    █ | VPS - SolusVM - E3-1230 - RAID10 - 1Gbit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    6,478
    I suggest you look at your domain on http://network-tools.com/

    Everything looks fine, I believe what you are seeing is due to caching.


    From an SSH terminal try the following.

    dig yourdomain.com MX @ns1.yournameserver.com

    and...

    dig yourdomain.com MX

    The name servers you are using are probably caching the MX records.
    █ | Brad Hooper - Hoopla Hosting - Email or add me to Gtalk! brad [at] hooplahosting.com
    █ | Web Hosting NZ - Reseller Hosting - cPanel - Zurmo Hosting - Softaculous - CloudFlare
    █ | VPS - SolusVM - E3-1230 - RAID10 - 1Gbit

  8. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. DNS cluster how -non cpanel
    By WEBCRAFT-TUCKY in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2011, 12:00 PM
  2. cpanel dns cluster? registrars dns services?
    By florenceit in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 04:35 PM
  3. Help to set a DNS cluster with cPanel servers
    By agustin in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 06:53 AM
  4. DNS Cluster via Cpanel
    By ASHCN in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2010, 11:06 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-01-2006, 11:29 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •