hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Incorrect URLs/paths in error logs
Reply

Forum Jump

Incorrect URLs/paths in error logs

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2012, 01:33 PM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41

Incorrect URLs/paths in error logs


Hello,

I just moved my site to a new server. i used the same files and db backup from the old server. They both are Apache. As a result, my product pages and categories aren't being found and I get 404 errors.

Here's an example of the errors from the error log:
HTML Code:
[Sun Feb 19 09:53:07 2012] [error] [client 66.249.71.44] File does not exist: /var/www/html/panda-antivirus-2012-p-5090.html
[Sun Feb 19 09:54:37 2012] [error] [client 66.249.66.149] File does not exist: /var/www/html/christmas-bonus-pack-p-4135.html
[Sun Feb 19 09:55:13 2012] [error] [client 66.249.66.149] File does not exist: /var/www/html/mission-combat-force-p-4158.html
What should I check on the server?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-19-2012, 02:30 PM
T-Junk T-Junk is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UT,US
Posts: 202
Do you have those pages on your site? Are they in a sub folder named "html", and are they working? If your renamed the folder, possibly even to upper case "HTML", then it could cause that error. Also, if you moved those pages, same result.

__________________
This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  #3  
Old 02-19-2012, 02:52 PM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Junk View Post
Do you have those pages on your site? Are they in a sub folder named "html", and are they working? If your renamed the folder, possibly even to upper case "HTML", then it could cause that error. Also, if you moved those pages, same result.
Thanks for your reply.

Yes those pages are on my site which is built with PHP. They are located in the "html" folder with all lower case. Since I used the db backup from the previous server, I didn't move the pages.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 02-19-2012, 04:45 PM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
What would cause the php files to be downloaded instead of displaying in the browser?

  #5  
Old 02-19-2012, 04:55 PM
T-Junk T-Junk is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UT,US
Posts: 202
Did you recently change your domain name?? It's a possibility that if you did, peolple are clicking those links (old bookmarks and search engine finds, or such). If you're running this site in a virtual directory on your webserver, those links could be defaulting to var/www.

So, are you running a virtual directory for this site, or are your files all located in var/www ??

__________________
This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  #6  
Old 02-19-2012, 05:11 PM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Junk View Post
Did you recently change your domain name?? It's a possibility that if you did, peolple are clicking those links (old bookmarks and search engine finds, or such). If you're running this site in a virtual directory on your webserver, those links could be defaulting to var/www.

So, are you running a virtual directory for this site, or are your files all located in var/www ??
All files are in /var/www/html. Also, I didn't change the domain name. The only difference is the hosting company. Do you think that the 2 different servers are configured to handle php files differently? I'm running apache server in linux/centos. Php5 The previous server was an apache also.

Thanks

  #7  
Old 02-19-2012, 05:22 PM
T-Junk T-Junk is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UT,US
Posts: 202
Are you sure PHP is installed? When I've seen browsers ask to download a PHP page instead of display it, that has been the cause.

You can write this code in notepad (or related) and save it as checking.php:

PHP Code:
<?php
phpinfo
():
?>
Put that in your root directory and navigate a browser to http://yourdomain/checking.php and it should bring up a PHP information page.

So, you're SURE those files exsist? You can go to http://yourdomain/html/mission-combat-force-p-4158.html and it will display that certain page??

Edit: In the php.ini file (I do believe), you can define what pages the server will look for PHP on, such as .html and .htm files. That might be some of your problem.

__________________
This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  #8  
Old 02-19-2012, 06:29 PM
T-Junk T-Junk is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UT,US
Posts: 202
Sorry!! I typoed that code:
PHP Code:
<?php
phpinfo
();
?>
Also, are you using a CMS (Wordpress, Joomla!, etc.)?

__________________
This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  #9  
Old 02-19-2012, 08:59 PM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
I was wondering why the page was blank. I'll try the new code later.

  #10  
Old 02-19-2012, 09:18 PM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
I do have wordpress but I must upgrade php to 5.2.6. My website is powered by oscommerce.


Last edited by discxpress; 02-19-2012 at 09:20 PM. Reason: forgot to mention something
  #11  
Old 02-20-2012, 02:10 AM
T-Junk T-Junk is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UT,US
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by discxpress View Post
I do have wordpress but I must upgrade php to 5.2.6. My website is powered by oscommerce.
Are you using a WP plugin that changes your page names, because that could be an issue if not set up right or disabled in the change over. Also, I do believe that Wordpress pages do not end with ".html", but rather a number such as "?page_id=86", or even just words and a slash like "panda-antivirus-2012-p-5090/" (although I could be wrong). There might be other issues here.

__________________
This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  #12  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:18 AM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
On my php coded site, I use mod that changes the extensions from .php to .html. On wp I have no such plugin.

Thanks

  #13  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:45 AM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
I corrected the checking.php file and loaded it in my browser. if you want to view the results go here: http://www.discxpress.com/checking.php

  #14  
Old 02-20-2012, 09:38 AM
discxpress discxpress is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
I found the solution! zlib wasn't enabled. I need to upgrade php. Any easy way to do that?

Thanks

  #15  
Old 02-20-2012, 10:06 AM
T-Junk T-Junk is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UT,US
Posts: 202
Good work man!! Glad you got that sorted out. You should remove that checking.php file (or rename it).

As for upgrading PHP, I'm not as familiar with Centos as other linux distros, and never used a control panel, but it shouldn't be anything a yum install can't fix.

Try this link here.

__________________
This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error: D:\ is not accessible. Incorrect function onauc Computers and Peripherals 3 08-05-2010 10:50 PM
Strange urls in 404 logs ramdak5000 Hosting Security and Technology 4 08-18-2008 12:20 AM
Joomla installation - Username/Password Incorrect MySQL Database Error Jon12345 Hosting Security and Technology 10 06-25-2007 07:03 PM
Dictionary (false/incorrect/error-related) .infos qbp Domain Name Offers 2 09-13-2004 05:07 PM
Error Logs!!!! Cheapskate Web Hosting 3 01-12-2004 10:05 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Admin Error Brings Down Joyent’s Ashburn Data Center Web Hosting News 2014-05-28 10:18:18
Unusual DNS Error Leads to Internet Outage in China Web Hosting News 2014-01-21 12:16:24
Lengthy Outages for Hacker News, FastHosts Web Hosting News 2014-01-06 09:56:36
Browsers Block Unauthorized Digital Certificate Issued by Turkish CA TURKTRUST Web Hosting News 2013-01-04 12:55:27
Netcraft and GlobalSign Partner to Help Web Hosts Identify Phishing URLs Web Hosting News 2012-09-19 10:58:41


Tags
apache, error, path, url

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?