Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Question Switching to Colo'ing

    I've recently become fed up enough with the logjam known as OVH's network and purchased my own server, now I'm looking for a reasonable place to colocate it. Its just a personal server hosting a few personal sites/email and my VMware playground, so its not mission essential or anything.

    I'm currently considering locations in Dallas, Tulsa, Oklahoma City, Kansas City, St. Louis, and Memphis due to relative closeness to my physical location; I'd like to not to have to rely on remote hands if possible, especially if they're pricey.

    One provider that's jumped out at it is Datashack.net in KC. They seem to be well favored around here for what they offer.. If someone who currently is hosted there would be willing to run a traceroute or two for me, it would be greatly appreciated. Let me know and I'll PM an IP address.

    One other place that looks interesting is FDC Servers in Denver, although it is out of my distance range. The Colo Package 4 has 4U of space, does anyone know if I were to pay for a 2nd power drop and send in a rackmount switch, would they hook up the network drop to the switch and the 2 NICs and IPMI port to the switch?

    Thanks in advance for any input

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    Send me a PM and I'll run you traceroutes from Datashack's colo facility.

    I'd steer clear of FDC. Their network either works well (based on peering with your provider) or is terrible. This is for instance true with Comcast (great) but not good experience with Verizon. Their bandwidth is all shared and non guaranteed unless you pay more.

    As for colo'ing other gear, you are going to pay per U rates for each additional piece of gear. So a 1U server + switch means being charged rate for 1U x 2. Some providers can/will put something together for you custom.

    You likely are just best using the facilities own switches and paying for additional network drops, which are much cheaper than additional 1U colo cost.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    171
    What are you trying to accomplish with a second switch? I recommend going with a secondary network drop rather than paying for extra space and power required for an additional device.
    Psychz Networks - Enterprise Servers & Data Center Professionals
    ★24/7 On-Site Support - Premium Server Hardware
    ★Facilities: Los Angeles, CA - Dallas, TX | Tier-4 Data Centers
    ★Dedicated Servers - Colocation - Psychz DDoS-Shield™ On-Premise Mitigation

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Washington D.C.
    Posts
    6
    I understand Joe's Data Center in KC is extremely inexpensive. I don't know much more about them then that.

  5. #5
    Well the switch/FDC idea is out, so that's a moot point now. I've done a few speed tests from their Denver looking glass with varying results, so I don't intend on pursing them further.

    I've sent out an contact inquiry to Datashack via their website contact form but haven't heard back yet, which is semi-concerning. I suppose website contact forms can be finicky though, so if I don't hear anything back by tomorrow I'll email them directly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,471
    Give Aaron at Wholesale Internet (WII) a try. Datashack I believe uses WII's datacenter.

    I just recently wrote a 2 year review of WII:
    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1114245

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    12,789
    Check colounlimited.com .

    We have cabinets with them and we are very satisfied with their network.
    .
    JoneSolutions.Com is on the net providing services and support 24/7 since 2001.
    .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    Joe's, Wholesale and Datashack are nearly the same. You won't go wrong with any of them.

    Fair to note (I think) that Joe's and Datashack are smaller operations staff wise. Both from time to time have been slow with inquiries. But they do catch up typically.

    Their networks look the same. Run some traceroutes inside and out and compare. They are very Cogent-dependent, all three. So beware of that. Cogent routing can be a tad odd for some folks.

    BTW: Datashack does colo at their own facility, not at Wholesale. Although, it's my understanding that their bandwidth for the new facility heads over to Wholesale to out to the world.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Wholesale internet good Kansas location.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    /usr/bin/fail
    Posts
    857
    Quote Originally Posted by net View Post
    Check colounlimited.com .

    We have cabinets with them and we are very satisfied with their network.
    +1 for ColoU. We have been there over a year and very satisfied.
    JAXVPS Web Hosting Solutions - http://www.jaxvps.com
    Offering Premium SSD Shared, Reseller, and VPS Hosting Since 2010
    VPS servers available in both Jacksonville and Chicago locations

  11. #11
    Just an update.. I received a response to my Datashack inquiry not long after this message, so maybe I jumped the gun there a bit.

    I do believe I'm going to go with Datashack however and am going to start readying a migration strategy from current server to the new colocated one. I'll post back later on once I've got things in motion on my thoughts on things.

    Thanks again to all to those who provided input and suggestions here.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,901
    datashack is a bit slow response but works great ( at least dedi boxes)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Corona, CA USA
    Posts
    382
    I have a colo server at Joe's. For the last month I've had 100% uptime, that's fairly good
    Skeptic Hosting
    Promoting a reality-based lifestyle choice
    Hosting by invitation only, nothing for sale

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    61
    Sounds like you should colo in your own town or city. You have not described anything other then you want better support and if you're going colo then colo'ing in your city would give you the support you're looking for (from yourself) hosting that server across the country could end up just like your ovh dedicated server in France

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    383
    I believe Wholesale does the support for datashack, as many of the people have the same name.

    Datashack has their own facility, as well as racks at Wholesale, and their facility gets it's internet from wholesale internet.

    The only difference between Joes, Wholesale and Datashack is that Joes does not have a backup generator, not really a bad thing for non mission critical system.

    +1 for Datashack or Wholesale, I have systems with both of them, and have no complaints.
    -Ryan K
    Quality Minecraft hosting at a price you can afford!
    Managed Dedicated and VPS hosting.
    www.evlgaming.com

  16. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Colo-ing from home
    By lemeneid in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 04-10-2009, 10:48 AM
  2. Switching to colo
    By mythologen in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-06-2006, 06:58 PM
  3. Switching from Dedicated to Colo
    By AstroBoy in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-01-2004, 07:12 PM
  4. switching from dedicated to colo
    By nate in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-20-2003, 07:54 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •