Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41

    Incorrect URLs/paths in error logs

    Hello,

    I just moved my site to a new server. i used the same files and db backup from the old server. They both are Apache. As a result, my product pages and categories aren't being found and I get 404 errors.

    Here's an example of the errors from the error log:
    HTML Code:
    [Sun Feb 19 09:53:07 2012] [error] [client 66.249.71.44] File does not exist: /var/www/html/panda-antivirus-2012-p-5090.html
    [Sun Feb 19 09:54:37 2012] [error] [client 66.249.66.149] File does not exist: /var/www/html/christmas-bonus-pack-p-4135.html
    [Sun Feb 19 09:55:13 2012] [error] [client 66.249.66.149] File does not exist: /var/www/html/mission-combat-force-p-4158.html
    What should I check on the server?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UT,US
    Posts
    204
    Do you have those pages on your site? Are they in a sub folder named "html", and are they working? If your renamed the folder, possibly even to upper case "HTML", then it could cause that error. Also, if you moved those pages, same result.
    This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by T-Junk View Post
    Do you have those pages on your site? Are they in a sub folder named "html", and are they working? If your renamed the folder, possibly even to upper case "HTML", then it could cause that error. Also, if you moved those pages, same result.
    Thanks for your reply.

    Yes those pages are on my site which is built with PHP. They are located in the "html" folder with all lower case. Since I used the db backup from the previous server, I didn't move the pages.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    What would cause the php files to be downloaded instead of displaying in the browser?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UT,US
    Posts
    204
    Did you recently change your domain name?? It's a possibility that if you did, peolple are clicking those links (old bookmarks and search engine finds, or such). If you're running this site in a virtual directory on your webserver, those links could be defaulting to var/www.

    So, are you running a virtual directory for this site, or are your files all located in var/www ??
    This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by T-Junk View Post
    Did you recently change your domain name?? It's a possibility that if you did, peolple are clicking those links (old bookmarks and search engine finds, or such). If you're running this site in a virtual directory on your webserver, those links could be defaulting to var/www.

    So, are you running a virtual directory for this site, or are your files all located in var/www ??
    All files are in /var/www/html. Also, I didn't change the domain name. The only difference is the hosting company. Do you think that the 2 different servers are configured to handle php files differently? I'm running apache server in linux/centos. Php5 The previous server was an apache also.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UT,US
    Posts
    204
    Are you sure PHP is installed? When I've seen browsers ask to download a PHP page instead of display it, that has been the cause.

    You can write this code in notepad (or related) and save it as checking.php:

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    phpinfo
    ():
    ?>
    Put that in your root directory and navigate a browser to http://yourdomain/checking.php and it should bring up a PHP information page.

    So, you're SURE those files exsist? You can go to http://yourdomain/html/mission-combat-force-p-4158.html and it will display that certain page??

    Edit: In the php.ini file (I do believe), you can define what pages the server will look for PHP on, such as .html and .htm files. That might be some of your problem.
    This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UT,US
    Posts
    204
    Sorry!! I typoed that code:
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    phpinfo
    ();
    ?>
    Also, are you using a CMS (Wordpress, Joomla!, etc.)?
    This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    I was wondering why the page was blank. I'll try the new code later.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    I do have wordpress but I must upgrade php to 5.2.6. My website is powered by oscommerce.
    Last edited by discxpress; 02-19-2012 at 09:20 PM. Reason: forgot to mention something

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UT,US
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by discxpress View Post
    I do have wordpress but I must upgrade php to 5.2.6. My website is powered by oscommerce.
    Are you using a WP plugin that changes your page names, because that could be an issue if not set up right or disabled in the change over. Also, I do believe that Wordpress pages do not end with ".html", but rather a number such as "?page_id=86", or even just words and a slash like "panda-antivirus-2012-p-5090/" (although I could be wrong). There might be other issues here.
    This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    On my php coded site, I use mod that changes the extensions from .php to .html. On wp I have no such plugin.

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    I corrected the checking.php file and loaded it in my browser. if you want to view the results go here: http://www.discxpress.com/checking.php

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    41
    I found the solution! zlib wasn't enabled. I need to upgrade php. Any easy way to do that?

    Thanks

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    UT,US
    Posts
    204
    Good work man!! Glad you got that sorted out. You should remove that checking.php file (or rename it).

    As for upgrading PHP, I'm not as familiar with Centos as other linux distros, and never used a control panel, but it shouldn't be anything a yum install can't fix.

    Try this link here.
    This Geeks Blog Site | | Need moral support? Got it HERE!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Error: D:\ is not accessible. Incorrect function
    By onauc in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2010, 10:50 PM
  2. Strange urls in 404 logs
    By ramdak5000 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-18-2008, 12:20 AM
  3. Joomla installation - Username/Password Incorrect MySQL Database Error
    By Jon12345 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-25-2007, 07:03 PM
  4. Dictionary (false/incorrect/error-related) .infos
    By qbp in forum Domain Name Offers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2004, 05:07 PM
  5. Error Logs!!!!
    By Cheapskate in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-12-2004, 10:05 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •