hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : WHM setting up 1 ftp account for all accounts
Reply

Forum Jump

WHM setting up 1 ftp account for all accounts

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2012, 02:09 PM
DevNine DevNine is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
Unhappy

WHM setting up 1 ftp account for all accounts


Hi,
I have a centos vps with whm and cpanel. I've 10 domains. Each domain was setup with whm and each has it's own ftp details. I would like to have 1 ftp account that enables me to access all.

how do I create a ftp account (besides root) that enables me to access each home directory with write permissions?


thanks.

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-21-2012, 02:14 PM
cd/home cd/home is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: /etc/my.cnf
Posts: 9,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevNine View Post
how do I create a ftp account (besides root) that enables me to access each home directory with write permissions?
I dont believe this is possible and even if it was I cannot stress the security flaw with such setup...

__________________
LeapHost Solid High Performance Litespeed + Varnish + RAMDisk + MariaDB Hosting.
Managed Colocation | Uptime Monitoring | Backups | Proactive Server Management.
Server Setups | Stable Migrations | Security/Hardening | cPanel DNS Cluster Setups.
24/7 Ticket + Phone + Live Chat Support | Fancy An Offer > | Visit Our Special Offers


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2012, 02:15 PM
KMyers KMyers is offline
Technical Nutcase
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 18,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevNine View Post
Hi,
I have a centos vps with whm and cpanel. I've 10 domains. Each domain was setup with whm and each has it's own ftp details. I would like to have 1 ftp account that enables me to access all.

how do I create a ftp account (besides root) that enables me to access each home directory with write permissions?


thanks.
Short answer... you cant (which is a good thing, trust me)

Long answer, if you have root access, you can use Filezilla with your root credentials by setting up a "SCP" connection. It is similar to FTP but goes over SSH.

__________________
Keith M.- CTO
VPS | Cloud Resource Pools | Dedicated Servers | Colocation
99.999% Uptime | 24x7x365 Support | onApp Powered Cloud | Global Data Centers
Big Brain Global Networks | A Division of Big Brain, LLC

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 02-21-2012, 04:11 PM
Patrick Patrick is offline
Security Ninja
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by cd/home View Post
I dont believe this is possible and even if it was I cannot stress the security flaw with such setup...
Agreed. Not possible unless root is used, just due to the way file permissions work... and a terrible idea from a security standpoint.

__________________
Patrick William | RACK911 Labs | Software Security Auditing
250+ Vulnerabilities Found - Get a Quote @ http://www.RACK911Labs.com

www.HostingSecList.com - Security notices for the hosting community.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2012, 04:13 PM
Spluut Spluut is offline
You broke the internet!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Internet
Posts: 1,048
Why not setup one cPanel with the 10 domains? That will give you one login for everything, including FTP.

__________________
The web hosting market will never die. Virtual environments are forever the future and easily adapt to change. Welcome to the world wide web!

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2012, 04:17 AM
DevNine DevNine is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
Thanks for the replies. From what I gather it's technically possible and the secure way to do it is via scp.

How can I setup one cpanel for all the domains? Each domain has it's own cpanel doesn't it? I don't quite follow.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:11 AM
tracerouteme tracerouteme is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: India
Posts: 115
Setup one account from WHM and add the remaining 9 accounts as addon domain from cpanel of that main account.

__________________
Anoop
█ Freelance Linux Admin
Email: tracerouteme [at] gmail.com

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:18 AM
DevNine DevNine is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
Thanks for pointing me in this direction. It looks like that is the solution. I can read stats for each addon domain, I can point fantastico to each addon domain.

From a seo perspective, each addon domain appears as a normal independent domain to google right?
thanks very much.


Last edited by DevNine; 02-22-2012 at 06:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:43 AM
tracerouteme tracerouteme is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: India
Posts: 115
Stats for the addon domain will be found under the subdomain's URL in the stats app. Details can be found here.

Yes, you can install applications using fantastico in your addon domains.

AFAIK, Addon domain won't hurt SEO.

__________________
Anoop
█ Freelance Linux Admin
Email: tracerouteme [at] gmail.com

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-22-2012, 02:14 PM
whrss whrss is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SLASH ROOT
Posts: 645
Assume your main domain is main.com which has document root /home/main/public_html

When you create an addon domain say addon.com, it will show the document root as

/public_html/addon.com (i.e /home/main/public_html/addon.com

That will make http://main.com/addon.com accessible over http. So when you create an addon domain, make sure that the document root reads as:

/addon.com (i.e /home/main/addon.com). Even though this has nothing to do with SEO, it is always a good for better management of files.

__________________
█ WebHostRepo.com
█ Linux | Windows
| VPS | Cloud
█ Outsourced Technical Support since 2009
█ sales@webhostrepo.com

Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting WHM accounts LittleDevil Reseller Hosting 2 01-17-2012 06:30 PM
Setting up ftp accounts witt Dedicated Server 0 03-01-2007 09:38 PM
Setting up FTP Accounts with no Control Panel That Guy Hosting Security and Technology 16 02-16-2005 07:39 PM
Setting up ftp accounts (permissions) in ensim ChrisTech Hosting Software and Control Panels 1 05-21-2003 01:55 AM
I need help setting up ftp accounts smartcrew Web Hosting Lounge 2 10-12-2002 10:28 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
When Users Die, Yahoo Japan Deletes their Account and Offers Funeral Arrangements Web Hosting News 2014-07-22 18:02:00
Are You Prepared for Your Digital Afterlife? Blog 2013-06-27 16:28:32
Advanced Internet Technologies Launches Customer Management System Web Hosting News 2013-05-17 14:35:19
VIDEO: CloudLinux CEO Igor Seletskiy on Hosting Platform Software Whir Tv 2014-05-02 14:52:22
Web Host GeekStorage Opens New Office in Oklahoma, Names Account Manager Web Hosting News 2012-07-31 14:04:33


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?