Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    74

    Unhappy WHM setting up 1 ftp account for all accounts

    Hi,
    I have a centos vps with whm and cpanel. I've 10 domains. Each domain was setup with whm and each has it's own ftp details. I would like to have 1 ftp account that enables me to access all.

    how do I create a ftp account (besides root) that enables me to access each home directory with write permissions?


    thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    9,976
    Quote Originally Posted by DevNine View Post
    how do I create a ftp account (besides root) that enables me to access each home directory with write permissions?
    I dont believe this is possible and even if it was I cannot stress the security flaw with such setup...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    18,917
    Quote Originally Posted by DevNine View Post
    Hi,
    I have a centos vps with whm and cpanel. I've 10 domains. Each domain was setup with whm and each has it's own ftp details. I would like to have 1 ftp account that enables me to access all.

    how do I create a ftp account (besides root) that enables me to access each home directory with write permissions?


    thanks.
    Short answer... you cant (which is a good thing, trust me)

    Long answer, if you have root access, you can use Filezilla with your root credentials by setting up a "SCP" connection. It is similar to FTP but goes over SSH.
    Keith I Myers
    CEO and Founder - RemoteRAM.com
    The world leader in Cloud Based RAM
    KMyers.me The rantings of a lunatic

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,873
    Quote Originally Posted by cd/home View Post
    I dont believe this is possible and even if it was I cannot stress the security flaw with such setup...
    Agreed. Not possible unless root is used, just due to the way file permissions work... and a terrible idea from a security standpoint.
    Patrick William | RACK911 Labs | Software Security Auditing
    400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Free Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com

    www.HostingSecList.com - Security notices for the hosting community.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    1,050
    Why not setup one cPanel with the 10 domains? That will give you one login for everything, including FTP.
    The web hosting market will never die. Virtual environments are forever the future and easily adapt to change. Welcome to the world wide web!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    74
    Thanks for the replies. From what I gather it's technically possible and the secure way to do it is via scp.

    How can I setup one cpanel for all the domains? Each domain has it's own cpanel doesn't it? I don't quite follow.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    117
    Setup one account from WHM and add the remaining 9 accounts as addon domain from cpanel of that main account.
    Anoop
    █ Freelance Linux Admin
    Email: tracerouteme [at] gmail.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    74
    Thanks for pointing me in this direction. It looks like that is the solution. I can read stats for each addon domain, I can point fantastico to each addon domain.

    From a seo perspective, each addon domain appears as a normal independent domain to google right?
    thanks very much.
    Last edited by DevNine; 02-22-2012 at 06:26 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    117
    Stats for the addon domain will be found under the subdomain's URL in the stats app. Details can be found here.

    Yes, you can install applications using fantastico in your addon domains.

    AFAIK, Addon domain won't hurt SEO.
    Anoop
    █ Freelance Linux Admin
    Email: tracerouteme [at] gmail.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SLASH ROOT
    Posts
    821
    Assume your main domain is main.com which has document root /home/main/public_html

    When you create an addon domain say addon.com, it will show the document root as

    /public_html/addon.com (i.e /home/main/public_html/addon.com

    That will make http://main.com/addon.com accessible over http. So when you create an addon domain, make sure that the document root reads as:

    /addon.com (i.e /home/main/addon.com). Even though this has nothing to do with SEO, it is always a good for better management of files.
    █ WebHostRepo.com
    █ Linux | Windows
    | VPS | Cloud
    █ Outsourced Technical Support since 2009
    █ sales@webhostrepo.com

  11. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Setting WHM accounts
    By LittleDevil in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 06:30 PM
  2. Setting up ftp accounts
    By witt in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2007, 09:38 PM
  3. Setting up FTP Accounts with no Control Panel
    By That Guy in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-16-2005, 07:39 PM
  4. Setting up ftp accounts (permissions) in ensim
    By ChrisTech in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-21-2003, 01:55 AM
  5. I need help setting up ftp accounts
    By smartcrew in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-12-2002, 10:28 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •