Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 46
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Posts
    304

    Datashack Power Outage

    There appears to have been a power issue in the facility with UPS1. We currently
    have an electrician on site and are working on repairing this as quickly and
    efficiently as possible. We do not have an ETA at this time but we will update
    you as soon as possible.
    This is great fun.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rotherham, UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Our servers are ok, do you know which of the two facility's this has happened too?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    629
    We have a server that's unreachable due to the outage, as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    This outage is at their remote facility where they house colo customers.

    It is not at Wholesale where they offer other services.

    Bit surprised by this since as per Aaron (Wholesale) this new Datashack facility supposedly has a ton of electric power on site.

    If I am reading this right, it's a subset of customers attached to UPS #1.

    I am unfortunately impacted too

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rotherham, UK
    Posts
    1,539
    That explains it then, hope they get this sorted fast for you guys!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    @Jono20201 --- Where did you find that post for the outage?

    (Didn't get any notice from them about the outage and nothing in their support control panel)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Posts
    304
    Seems to be back up now. We don't Colo with them, but its still at that facility.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Posts
    304
    Quote Originally Posted by pubcrawler View Post
    @Jono20201 --- Where did you find that post for the outage?

    (Didn't get any notice from them about the outage and nothing in their support control panel)
    We rang them, then got them to fast track our ticket.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    629
    We're able to ping our server now, but there's about 60% packet loss.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    We do colo with them. Know our server is at the new remote facility.

    We are still offline.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    629
    Disregard my last post. We're back to 100% packet loss again.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Posts
    304
    --- ksnode2.mpserv.net ping statistics ---
    764 packets transmitted, 764 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 128.166/151.530/585.447/51.527 ms

    No packet loss this end.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    Just got canned response that was posted earlier about UPS failure.

    So outage is ongoing.

    Fingers crossed it gets resolved quickly and everyones gear survives.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    629
    Our server is back up, 0% loss, and all data seems to be intact.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    Still down here.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    Server is still down!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Posts
    304
    We've got 4 servers from them in the space of a month (totaling $400/m), all of them have now had some sort of hardware/disk/power issue now. Don't think we will be expanding our presence with Datashack anymore.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    Now we are back

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    141
    3 servers of mine are down.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    North Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    108
    We lost UPS #1 at our North Kansas City Facility. This impacted about 250 customers. No customers at either Wholesale's facility downtown or anyone not attached to UPS #1 was affected.

    The faulty static switch module was replaced and power restored. At this time our techs are going through each machine to physically check and make sure the machine is on and booted correctly.

    If your server is still offline please submit a ticket to support. Once every machine has been checked the techs will start dealing with the individual tickets.

    I guess we had to have an outage at some point.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,035
    Quote Originally Posted by DataShack View Post
    I guess we had to have an outage at some point.
    Yup just like all of us

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Posts
    304
    Down again

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    439
    There should be maintenance of power systems of the building. It seems something goes wrong

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    46
    recently my servers going down.

  25. #25
    I've been down for about 20 minutes and can't reach their website.

  26. #26
    Down now as well.

  27. #27
    My server is down as well ...

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    Yep, we are down also.

    I am tad confused as we are "offsite" at Datashack's remote / new colo location and that site wasn't supposed to be impacted by this power issue.

    Second outage in < 1 month.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    97
    The datacenter is down again...

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Posts
    304
    Quote Originally Posted by pubcrawler View Post
    Yep, we are down also.

    I am tad confused as we are "offsite" at Datashack's remote / new colo location and that site wasn't supposed to be impacted by this power issue.

    Second outage in < 1 month.
    Exactly the same here.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    Glad I made backup few hours ago even though they said I won't be affected.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    141
    Can confirm all my servers are down too....

  33. #33
    I have a backup like... 2 weeks ago. Hope the harddrive will still be good when the server comes back

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by freethought View Post
    Is the network connectivity at the remote facility backhauled to Oak Tower? It seems that Whilesale Internet had some kind of issues, probably related to the power maintenance scheduled today.
    I believe the bandwidth is backhauled from this outage.

    Just checked Virpus' site and it's down. Ouch, know they are one of the big clients at WII and they posted on Facebook about the scheduled maintenance and thought no downtime. Ahh wrong also.

    Just saw our server come back to life a minute or two ago....

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Posts
    304
    2/3 of ours are back.

  36. #36
    The traffic used to go via HE to North Kansas City DC and now we're back online via Cogent. Colo servers weren't suffering from any power loss so it has been just connectivity so far.

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    351
    Datashack needs to do something to put their own website, elsewhere in case of outage.

    Went looking for user login area and any updates and their site wouldn't load since on network that was offline.

    Should be standard practice for all providers to have redundancy of their own website outside their network.

  38. #38
    support.datashack.net has been working for me all this time.

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    4,367
    support.datashack.net works for me and my datashack server at WII hasn't gone down.

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    141
    2 of my 5 are still down.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. EvoSwitch Power Outage?
    By OverlordQ in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 05:02 AM
  2. Power Outage at Hetzner
    By tsutton in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-31-2009, 07:16 AM
  3. 56 marietta power outage?
    By RyanD in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 02:17 AM
  4. Power Outage
    By sgarbus in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-14-2006, 04:09 PM
  5. Power Outage
    By HRBrendan in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 119
    Last Post: 08-15-2003, 10:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •